It all comes down to this!

This weekend is a huge one for Late Models in Western Australia, not only contesting the eighth annual Late Model Nationals, but also bringing the Wild West Showdown to a close over two epic nights.
One of the biggest events on the Late Model Racing Western Australia calendar is the Late Model Nationals at the Perth Motorplex and we are thrilled today to release that twenty-eight nominations have been received for the show, one more than last year’s running of the event and the biggest numbers for this season so far.
Starting this Friday night at the Perth Motorplex and then concluding the following night, both nights will be worth regular points (heats and features) for the overall Wild West Showdown as per normal, but the winner of the Nationals will be the person who crosses the line first in the Saturday night feature and with just two of our former winners in the field, it will be an interesting finish for sure!
Defending champion Kye Blight has now won the event three times and coming into the show has already won three feature races so far this season, leading the Wild West Showdown points. He has been in a red-hot form and if anyone can dethrone him, they will more than have earned the trophy.
The only other former winner in the field is Brent Vosbergen and although he is still picking the celebratory confetti out of his car from last year, after a win in the last show at the Motorplex he is back for another crack and keen to grab his second win, confetti and all!
Warren Oldfield has again been the model of consistency, holding down second overall by just twenty-three points in the Showdown point score. The Nationals is one of the few events he has not won yet in his career and this weekend will give him that opportunity once more, as well as to increase his Perth Motorplex winning streak to thirteen seasons in a row!
Joe Chalmers currently holds down third overall in the Wild West points, two thirds and a fourth from the three feature races so far. As of yet he hasn’t been able to break through for a win in season 2023/24, but with four podium finishes to his name he has been incredibly close multiple times and could well take that extra step this Saturday night.
Jason and Jamie Oldfield round out the top five after the three rounds held so far, and despite neither having been on the podium in the three rounds, are still threatening at each race meeting and could get back on the top step again this weekend.
Boosting the field even more is the addition of not one, not two, not three, but four visiting drivers!
American Jeff Roth has had a rough time on his trip so far, heat race issues seeing him starting back in the pack for the feature races but having claimed the Hard Charger Award twice, he has shown that when the car is on, its on and if he can start further forward this weekend could well trouble the front runners.
Tasmanian Brad Smith (NSW and Queensland Champion) and Victorian Peter Nicola (Victorian Champion) have already been competing here in the West this season, contesting the three nights of the Wild West Showdown so far and getting themselves ready for this weekend’s action.
They are joined by New South Welshman Bruce McKenzie who will be utilising the car he leaves here this weekend, meaning in total we have four states of Australia represented and four of the six State Champions from across Australia also here!
As if this wasn’t enough, the field has been boosted even more with the official nomination of Craig Vosbergen. Racing for the first time since April 2023, his only show for that season, Craig was a DNF at that event and will be fired up in his return to the seat as he looks to show the field that he still has what it takes!
All the regulars are also in the field: names like Ken Macpherson, Jay Cardy, David Nylander and even Chris Barrow having strong seasons with good results. Others including Luke Halliday, Brad Blake and Rod Musarra will be hoping to bounce back after all struck issues at their last shows while we also welcome back names like Damian Hudson and Casey Paech after being absent from the last few shows.
This weekend is going to be a massive one for Late Models in Western Australia, with some great tv coverage also on the cards for Saturday night’s show thanks to the team from 7plus, so make sure you are there both nights to witness history!
The 2023/24 Wild West Showdown is proudly supported by Maddington Toyota & CanningVale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, McPhee Freight, Heatleys Safety & Industrial, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, SupaFit Seat Covers, The Event Mill, Wilson Brewing Company and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Nev Clarke Photography
Official Nominations – 28
0 Brad Blake
A1 Brent Vosbergen
V1 Peter Nicola
04 Greg Horan
N6 Bruce Mackenzie
T6 Brad Smith
6 Peter Walker
07 Kodee Brown
8 Craig Vosbergen
11 Jason Oldfield
USA14 Jeff Roth
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
31 Kye Blight
39 Chris Barrow
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
65 Peter Seaton
74 Nathan Richards
79 Casey Paech
80 Damian Hudson
91 Michael Holmes
94 Luke Halliday
95 Abbey Pickering
Late Model Nationals Winners
2016/17 – Steve Francis (USA)
2017/18 – Jason Fitzgerald (USA)
2018/19 – Tyler Erb (USA)
2019/20 – Kye Blight
2020/21 – Kye Blight
2021/22 – Brent Vosbergen
2022/23 – Kye Blight