It All Begins Again!

It may seem like it has been a lifetime of waiting, but the 2023/24 Pro Dirt Series is finally set to kick off this Saturday!
For what will be the thirteenth time, the now traditional opening round at the Allwest Plant Hire – Ellenbrook Speedway will double as the Ray Tulk Memorial and will be held this Saturday afternoon, proudly presented by the team at ABN Trade Mates, with racing kicking off from 3pm.
Saturday will also mark the sixteenth time the Ray Tulk Memorial has been held, having been created in honour of Ray back in 2004.
Ray and his wife June were massive contributors to Speedway, and in particular the RDA of WA club (running Ellenbrook Speedway), having played a big part in shifting the club from Wattle Grove Speedway to its current home. They received Life Membership back in 1981 from the RDA of WA, but also played a big part in the formation of Late Models: Ray was one of the founding members and served in several positions including as Treasurer and in Technical. Sadly, Ray passed away in 2004 leading to the creation of an event in his honour.
For the 2023 version, we have twenty-two drivers nominated, the biggest field since 2014 when twenty-seven cars showed up, meaning that not only this event, but also the rest of the season, should be hotly contested.
The nominations list is headed by two time and defending Pro Dirt Series champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) (who claimed this event back in 2019), six time Ray Tulk Memorial winner Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) (looking to make it two in a row), current WA Champion Brad Blake (himself a three time winner of this event) and the fourth and final former winner of this race in the field this weekend Jamie Oldfield (three time victor), all of whom will be looking to get their seasons off to the best possible start.
Joining them will be the returning Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) (who has finished fourth once and third three times in this very race meeting), Jason Oldfield (second in this event last year) Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) (second in 2021, 2017 and 2015 and third in 2011) and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) second in 2012) as the only other Ray Tulk Memorial place getters in the field, and all would love to claim the win for the first time in their careers come feature time on Saturday.
The Esperance and Kalgoorlie teams are again hitting the road with Greg Horan (@chopperpopracing), Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) and David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport) set to once again join the series, while Ellenbrook locals including Rob Wells (CTM Recruitment Racing) (fresh off a feature win at the venue in the off season) and Peter Seaton (Peter Seaton Racing) (who has worked hard to get the engine back together in time for this show) are also in the field.
The rookie train continues, with not just previous rookie of the year winners Rod Musarra (@teamrocket), Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports) and the returning Daniel Ameduri (Ameduri Motorsports) (along with car owner Peter Mewett (Red dog racing)) in the field, but 2023/24 rookie contenders Casey Paech and Peter Walker also joining the fray and looking to get their Pro Dirt careers off to a solid start.
As if this wasn’t enough, we also have ‘Smokin’ Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) (now on the Pro Dirt Series winners list and desperate to add his name there once again), ‘Red Hot’ Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) (featuring on the podium in a Pro Dirt show for the first time last year and keen to repeat those efforts in 2023/24) and veteran Luke Halliday (Ryan Halliday Racing) (aboard the CTM Recruitment #94 and ready to get back to his early career success levels) and they certainly aren’t there to make up the numbers, all looking to be fighting for the win in the thirty lap main event.
No matter which way you look at it, this Saturday’s opening Round of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by the team at ABN Trade Mates, will be absolutely massive and you certainly won’t want to miss a minute of the action!
The 2023/24 Pro Dirt Series is proudly supported by Maddington Toyota & CanningVale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, McPhee Freight, Heatleys Safety & Industrial, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, SupaFit Seat Covers, The Event Mill and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy JSP/DTN Media.
Official Nominations – 22
0 Brad Blake
A1 Brent Vosbergen
2 Rob Wells
04 Greg Horan
6 Peter Walker
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
39 Chris Barrow
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
55 Peter Mewett
65 Peter Seaton
79 Casey Paech
80 Damian Hudson
90 David Boyes
91 Michael Holmes
94 Luke Halliday
155 Daniel Ameduri