In The General’s Honour

This Saturday night is a special one on the WA Speedway calendar, with the ‘Salute to the General’ weekend at the Perth Motorplex.
Forming round five of the series long Pro Dirt Series proudly presented by Maddington Toyota and CanningVale Toyota, this event honours the man known as ‘The General’ John Day, for his long-standing commitment to the sport of Speedway in WA many different ways, most notably for his fleet of bright orange John Day Push Utes.
This Saturday night will mark the eleventh time the Late Models have been part of the General tribute show, and amazingly there has been just five winners of the race in that time (plus a rain out and a time curfew). Even more surprisingly is that just one former winner of the race is actually in the field this weekend.
Brad Blake claimed the race back in the 2016/17 season and with his winning record at the Perth Motorplex now shared with another driver in another division, he would love to not just get the win in honour of the General, but also take that record back for his own!
Of course, this means that the other twenty cars in the field are also going to be fighting hard, desperate to claim their first John Day Classic win.
Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) comes into the show in top form, having the last round of the Pro Dirt Series down at Esperance a fortnight ago, and also travelling to Geraldton last weekend where he not only won the Late Model feature against a small field, but also a big Street Stock race! He would love to continue that form and add a general trophy to his collection come feature time on Saturday night.
It may be surprising that others including Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR), Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) also haven’t yet claimed this elusive race, though each has featured on the podium (Brent back in 2021, Holmes and Cardy in 2018 and Oldfield back in 2016, 2015 and 2013) in the past and will be looking to do the same if not better this weekend.
Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) and Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) are the only other two drivers who have previously finished on the podium in this race, rounding out the top three behind Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) this time last year and with Jason the last start winner at the Motorplex and Macpherson inside the top five in the Pro dirt series points thus far, both are in red hot form and would love to improve on their previous result.
Looking further through the field, there are plenty of others looking to grab that elusive win, with names like Luke Halliday (Ryan Halliday Racing), Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:), Daniel Ameduri (Red dog racing) and Kalgoorlie duo David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport) and Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) right in the mix, while rookies including Abbey Pickering (All About Racing), Peter Walker and Anthony King have also impressed in their early runs and could be a factor throughout the night.
We also welcome back for the first time this season Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) joining brother Dave, while Nathan Callaghan also rejoins the Pro Dirt Series for the first time in a fair while, campaigning his newly freshened #93 machine who help to make up a sensational twenty one car field that is sure to put on a great show this Saturday night in honour of ‘The General!’
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Official Nominations – 21
0 Brad Blake
A1 Brent Vosbergen
04 Greg Horan
5 Anthony King
6 Peter Walker
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
34 Matt Nylander
39 Chris Barrow
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
80 Damian Hudson
90 David Boyes
91 Michael Holmes
93 Nathan Callaghan
94 Luke Halliday
95 Abbey Pickering
155 Daniel Ameduri
2012-13 Matt Goodlad
2013-14 No Late Models
2014-15 Craig Vosbergen
2015-16 Rained Out
2016-17 Brad Blake
2017-18 Cancelled due to time
2018-19 Ryan Halliday
2019-20 Kye Blight
2020-21 Ryan Halliday
2021-22 Matt Goodlad
2022-23 Kye Blight