Hi Five for Kye Blight!

Australian Champion Kye Blight has tonight continued his huge run of success, grabbing his fifth feature win in a row, this time at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway.

Blight was simply unstoppable, claiming two heat wins in dominant fashion (making it six heat wins for the season) to set up a pole position start for the forty lap final alongside current State Champion Brent Vosbergen who also claimed two heat wins. Kodee Brown and Joe Godsey claimed the other preliminaries.

As the feature race went green, nineteen of the original twenty one starters would be on track, just Wayne Coleman not making it out, while Jayden Meckenstock would pull off before the race officially got underway.

Blight would immediately race away into the lead, and would actually set his fastest lap of the race on the opening lap as Brent Vosbergen, Kodee Brown, Warren Oldfield and Joe Chalmers were in pursuit.

By lap three Blight was already into traffic, while Brown would make his way into second ahead of Vosbergen.

The traffic just got thicker for Blight but he worked his way through with ease, only stopping when the yellow lights came on for a spinning Simon McNab, by which time he had already lapped nine cars. Kodee Brown was still second at the restart, followed by Vosbergen, Oldfield, Aydan Trewern, Chalmers, Godsey, Daniel Ameduri and Hayden Ross as the only other cars still on the lead lap.

The yellows would come out four laps later as Wade Carter spun, with Freddy Kinsella also involved, and both would finish their nights on the infield, but back on track Blight would once again race away, as Aydan Trewern made the most of the restart to get by Oldfield for third.

Prior to the stoppage Vosbergen had also made his way past Brown for second, with Brown then dropping to fifth as Trewern and Oldfield also passed him.

The next twenty seven laps would run without incident, as Blight raced away and continued to lap through the field, while Vosbergen held off a determined Trewern and Oldfield. Brown was holding down fifth but he too went down a lap before ultimately retiring on lap thirty, while Oldfield grabbed third placed from Trewern on lap thirty three, just a couple of laps before Trewern too was lapped before heading infield just shy of taking the checkered flag.

When all was said and done, Blight would officially take the win from Brent Vosbergen and Warren Oldfield as the only three cars on the lead lap, while Daniel Ameduri held strong to finish fourth one lap down from Joe Godsey and Hayden Ross, while Michael Holmes, Jay Cardy and Veronica McCann were two laps down filling positions seven to nine, with Jeff Roth and Brad Blake rounding out the finishing field three laps down.

Excitingly, we do it all over again tonight, with the final round of the Invasion Tour taking place at the Albany Speedway once again and as last night showed, the Late Models certainly know how to put on a show!

The 2019/20 Carbusters Metal Recycling Late Model Pro Dirt Series and USA Invasion Tour, proudly brought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, Global XLI, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Michael Holmes Racing, Homes by Roth, Bulk Metals, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Collie Machine Shop, D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant, Grays Online, Panelworx, Rockingham Towing, Baldivis Pharmacy, Mezzstor, West Coast Big Bike Hire, Our Car Autos, QB Copper Recycling, Finlease (Peter Williams), Plantman and Palice Property Group.

Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Aidan Skraha.

Contingency Awards
Pancho’s Pole Position – Kye Blight
DTN Hard Charger – Jay Cardy
Bulk Metals QuickTime – 15.000 Kye Blight
Boyes Equipment SVS Highest All Star Qualifier – Joe Chalmers
Global XLI All Star Award – Daniel Ameduri
Homes by Roth All Star Podium – Hayden Ross
Michael Holmes Racing Rookie Award – Aydan Trewern

Official Results
Heat 1, 10 laps: 1. 07 Kodee Brown, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. 0 Brad Blake, 4. USA14R Jeff Roth, 5. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 6. 19 Simon McNab, 7. 10 Cody Avins. Total Time: 2.39.577. Winning Margin: 10.884. Fastest Lap: 15.409 Kodee Brown.

Heat 2, 10 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. USA66 Hayden Ross, 4. 12 Aydan Trewern, 5. USA48 Justin Shaw, 6. 60 Jayden Meckenstock (7). DNF: 13 Wayne Coleman (3). Total Time: 2.38.334. Winning Margin: 8.591. Fastest Lap: 15.000 Kye Blight.

Heat 3, 10 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. USA14G Joe Godsey, 3. N6 Wade Carter, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 6. 91 Michael Holmes. DNF 52 Jay Cardy (4). Total Time: 2.39.371. Winning Margin: 3.664. Fastest Lap: 15.342 Brent Vosbergen.

Heat 4, 10 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. USA66 Hayden Ross, 4. 12 Aydan Trewern, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. USA14R Jeff Roth. DNS: 60 Jayden Meckenstock. Total Time: 2.43.234. Winning Margin: 2.112. Fastest Lap: 15.229 Kye Blight.

Heat 5, 10 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. 91 Michael Holmes, 6. USA48 Justin Shaw. DNF: 13 Wayne Coleman (5). Total Time: 2.48.606. Winning Margin: 3.647. Fastest Lap: 16.255 Brent Vosbergen.

Heat 6, 10 laps: 1. USA14G Joe Godsey, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 5. 10 Cody Avins, 6. N6 Wade Carter, 7. 19 Simon McNab. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.814. Fastest Lap: 16.090 Kodee Brown.

Feature, 40 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 15 Warren Oldfield, 4. 83 Daniel Ameduri (39), 5. USA14G Joe Godsey (39), 6. USA Hayden Ross (39), 7. 91 Michael Holmes (38), 8. 52 Jay Cardy (38), 9. 50 Veronica McCann (38), 10. USA14R Jeff Roth (37), 11. 0 Brad Blake (37). DNF: 12 Aydan Trewern (38), 07 Kodee Brown (30), 10 Cody Avins (23), 318 Freddy Kinsella (12), N6 Wade Carter (12), 23 Joe Chalmers (9), 19 Simon McNab (8), USA48 Justin Shaw (3). DNS: 13 Wayne Coleman, 60 Jayden Meckenstock. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 12.159. Fastest Lap: 15.067 Kye Blight.