He Came, He Saw, He Conquered!

Coming into the final show of the season there was plenty of talk about who was going to do what.
In a nonchalant way, Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) warned the rest of the field that he was going to be claiming the Grand Final event.
And he did just that.
And by doing so, he made the Pro Dirt Series Championship points very, very interesting.
The Perth Motorplex would play host to the Grand Final event of the season, heat wins going to Jamie, Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components).
Chalmers would qualify himself off pole while Jamie Oldfield would start alongside him, Chalmers getting the jump on the start and racing into the lead with Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) racing into second while Jamie went two wide in a battle with Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) for third.
With two laps complete Jay Cardy found himself facing he fence in turn four, bunching the field up for a restart.
Chalmers would come under pressure from Jason Oldfield down low on the restart, but Jamie Oldfield made the moves, using the high line to fly around the outside of Jason while ahead Chalmers nudged the fence and allowed Jamie to close the gap for the lead very quickly.
Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing) moved into fourth over McCann as up front the lead two cars moved into lapped traffic, Jamie right on Chalmers’ tail as they fought tooth and nail on the highline with lapped cars below them.
Jamie made a pass for the lead with twelve complete, but Chalmers was able to get back by, the duo still running high and well ahead of the rest of the top cars, with heavy lapped traffic ahead.
Oldfield took advantage and was able to slide by to lead lap sixteen, heavy lapped traffic playing its part. A few laps later the yellow lights would come out for Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) who was stranded in turn four after contact with Luke Halliday (CTM Recruitment Racing) setting up a restart with Jamie leading Chalmers, Jason Oldfield and Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing).
Jamie went high on the restart, Jason Oldfield went low to momentarily take second, but Chalmers raced back by him, Jamie now leading Chalmers, Jason, Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport), Warren Oldfield and a charging Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) with ten laps remaining.
Warren would get by Macpherson for fourth shortly after, but ahead Jamie was simply powering away, going on to record an epic win in the final Pro Dirt Series round for season 2023/24, Chalmers settling for second with Jason Oldfield coming home third.
The calculators were burning up for the championship standings after the race, with Jason Oldfield doing enough to claim the Perth Motorplex Track Championship by just five points over Warren Oldfield with Joe Chalmers third, while in the Pro Dirt Series, well.. we will save that one for later today, because it simply can not get any closer!
A full series wrap-up will be posted in the coming days.
Release by DTN Media.
Pic Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Sitter – Joe Chalmers
Heatley’s Hard Charger – Freddy Kinsella
Ross’s All Star Award – Freddy Kinsella
Supafit Supa 7th Place – Matt Goodlad
Official Results
Heat 1, 8 laps: 1. Jamie Oldfield, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Joe Chalmers, 4. Matt Goodlad, 5. Ken Macpherson, 6. Luke Halliday, 7. Chris Barrow, 8. Freddy Kinsella, 9. Jay Cardy, 10. Bruce Mckenzie, 11. Greg Horan (7), 12. Bryn Haythornthwaite (7). Total Time: 2.17.759. Winning Margin: 2.509. Fastest Lap: 17.326 Warren Oldfield.
Heat 2, 8 laps: 1. Joe Chalmers, 2. Veronica McCann, 3. Jason Oldfield, 4. Jamie Oldfield, 5. Warren Oldfield, 6. Rod Musarra, 7. Chris Barrow, 8. Michael Holmes, 9. Abbey Pickering, 10. Bruce McKenzie, 11. Peter Walker. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.414. Fastest Lap: 17.098 Joe Chalmers.
Heat 3, 8 laps: 1. Jay Cardy, 2. Jason Oldfield, 3. Ken Macpherson, 4. Matt Goodlad, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. Rod Musarra, 7. Luke Halliday, 8. Peter Walker, 9. Freddy Kinsella, 10. Abbey Pickering, 11. Greg Horan, 12. Bryn Haythornthwaite. Total Time: 2.27.061. Winning Margin: 0.532. Fastest Lap: 17.400 Jason Oldfield.
Feature 30 laps: 1. Jamie Oldfield, 2. Joe Chalmers, 3. Jason Oldfield, 4. Warren Oldfield, 5. Freddy Kinsella, 6. Ken Macpherson, 7. Matt Goodlad, 8. Luke Halliday (29), 9. Abbey Pickering (29), 10. Peter Walker (28), 11. Chris Barrow (28), 12. Greg Horan (27), 13. Bryn Haythornthwaite (27), 14. Bruce Mackenzie (27). DNF: Veronica McCann (17), Rod Musarra (4), Jay Cardy (3). DNS: Michael Holmes. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.479. Fastest Lap: 16.468 Joe Chalmers.