Halliday’s Happy Christmas!

The Late Model Sedans division have put on a great show at every meeting this season and tonight at the Perth Motorplex was no different. At the end of the night it was Ryan Halliday who raced away to claim a popular victory in the fifteen lap feature race for the Christmas Cup ahead of Marc Giancola and Jay Cardy.

The feature actually began with Jay Cardy grabbing the early lead from position three, with Ryan Halliday chasing him hard in second place. Morgan Melvin held down third while behind them cars went every which way and bought out the yellows with Michael Holmes, Paul Stubber, Nat Muir and Phil Zuidema all involved in an incident in turn four. The restart saw Melvin put pressure on Halliday for second before overcooking it and spinning, the only blemish on his brilliant night so far, leaving him to restart at the rear.

Cardy led away Halliday and Oldfield on the restart, with the top three fighting it out in close quarters; Halliday executing an exciting slidejob on Cardy to grab the lead with five to go. From here Halliday pulled away from the rest of the field, but it was all to no avail as two laps later the yellows were out once again for a spun Phil Zuidema who was then hit by Brent Vosbergen. Halliday then led the last few laps to cross the line ahead of Giancola who executed a textbook slide job on Cardy in the last corner to grab second.

Morgan Melvin shot away to the early lead in the opening heat and held it until the first yellows came on for a spun car after just one lap. Brad Ludlow, who was second on the restart grabbed his chance and took the lead as the race went green again. At the halfway distance Ludlow began to smoke, with Melvin closing the gap between them and eventually moving around the outside. Ludlow then pulled infield before coming back onto the track in second, before pulling infield again with one and a half to go. This would be the end of his night. Out front though, it was all Morgan Melvin, claiming his first win the division, a huge 6.2 seconds ahead of Brent Vosbergen in second.

The second heat race saw a depleted field take the green after Nat Muir and Ludlow were unable to get their cars ready in time, while Peter Seaton’s car was too damaged after his contact with the wall in the opening race. Phil Zuidema led the opening few laps ahead of Jay Cardy and Warren Oldfield, with the yellows soon coming on for a spun car. The restart saw Zuidema, Cardy and Oldfield all fighting it out in close quarters for the lead, with Oldfield somehow passing both and grabbing the front position. From here he was never headed and went on to claim the win ahead of Zuidema and Cardy.

The final heat race was a quick affair, with Ryan Halliday leading the race early and never looking back. Marc Giancola chased hard but in the end it wasn’t enough as Halliday survived a number of restarts to cross the line first ahead of Jamie Moon and Marc Giancola.

The Late Models will return to the track tomorrow night at QUIT Bunbury Speedway, so have only a short turn around after tonight’s action. Stay tuned for all the details to be released tomorrow!

Octane Hard Charger Award – Michael Holmes (six cars passed)

Release by DTN Media.

Official Results

Heat One – 1. Morgan Melvin, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. Koran Atkinson, 4. Ryan Halliday, 5. Jamie Moon, 6. Marc Giancola, 7. Warren Oldfield, 8. Brad Ludlow, 9. Bryn Haythornthwaite. DNF: Peter Seaton, Jayden Meckenstock, Nat Muir.

Heat Two – 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Phil Zuidema, 3. Jay Cardy, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Morgan Melvin, 6. Paul Stubber, 7. Brent Vosbergen, 8. Ken MacPherson, 9. Rob Galloway. DNS: Brad Ludlow, Nat Muir, Peter Seaton.

Heat Three – 1. Ryan Halliday, 2. Jamie Moon, 3. Marc Giancola, 4. Jay Cardy, 5. Koran Atkinson, 6. Ken MacPherson, 7. Phil Zuidema, 8. Paul Stubber, 9. Rob Galloway, 10. Bryn Haythornthwaite, 11. Jayden Meckenstock. DNF: Michael Holmes.

Feature – 1. Ryan Halliday, 2. Marc Giancola, 3. Jay Cardy, 4. Jamie Moon, 5. Koran Atkinson, 6. Ken MacPherson, 7. Brent Vosbergen, 8. Michael Holmes, 9. Paul Stubber, 10. Phil Zuidema, 11. Morgan Melvin, 12. Nat Muir, 13. Bryn Haythornthwaite, 14. Rob Galloway. DNF: Warren Oldfield, Jayden Meckenstock. DNS: Brad Ludlow, Peter Seaton.

Leave a Comment