Great Field for the King of Kwinana!

Over the last twenty years, Late Models have contested the King of Kwinana event at the Perth Motorplex on fourteen occasions, and this weekend will see them return to the venue for the fifteenth running of the event in a show that also doubles as Round Three of the BGC Pro Dirt Series!

A good field of twenty three drivers have nominated for the event, spearheaded by the record equalling Brad Blake, current series points leader Warren Oldfield, current Australian Champion Kye Blight and former Australian Champions Kodee Brown and Paul Stubber.

All five of these drivers come into this event with varying fortunes: Blake the last start winner with a victory that reset the record books (and as a three time winner of the King of Kwinana event), Oldfield coming in fresh off two podium finishes from two starts and Kodee Brown who claimed third in his first event of the season. In contrast, Paul Stubber comes into the event with an eleventh and a DNF, while Blight hasn’t been able to start a feature race so far this season with engine woes.

Although a tale of contrasting fortunes for these five big names of WA Late Model racing, all will be throwing everything but the kitchen sink at the event this weekend to get themselves back on the top step of the podium once again.

Of course, these five drivers aren’t the only ones looking to make an impact this weekend, with names like Jay Cardy, Brent Vosbergen, Michael Holmes and Ken Macpherson all having shown in the past that they are capable of being at the front. Vosbergen comes into this event as the defending King of Kwinana, having continued the family history and emulated his father Craig’s four victories last season. He will be keen to bounce back after finishing sixth in the last show, while Jay Cardy, who finished one spot further up in fifth place, will also be looking to build on that positive result.

Macpherson already has a podium finish and a tenth place to his name this season while Holmes is still aboard the Jock Murray owned #20 machine as he awaits the arrival of his new car, in which he has already claimed a fourth and a seventh place.

Veronica McCann has been consistent so far with a fifth and an eighth in the two season opening features and would love to finally break through onto the podium this weekend, while David Nylander had a career best meeting at the last Motorplex show and would love to go one or two spots better this time out.

One driver making his first appearance in a number of seasons is Matt Goodlad. Although toning down his paint scheme this season (by his own admission!), Goodlad is certainly not toning down his efforts, and has in seasons past shown he can be right on the pace. If things go his way this weekend, he could well trouble the front runners as he competes in the first show of a limited schedule this season in the lead up to the to be announced State Title.

David Boyes also makes his first Pro Dirt appearance for the season after a solid run in Kalgoorlie a few weekends ago, while Matt Nylander is hopeful he too will hit the track for the first time in a number of years after mechanical issues kept him sidelined from the Motorplex season opener a few weeks back.

The final new piece to the puzzle will be rookie driver Brendan McKeagg. Although not a rookie Speedway driver, this will be his first race meeting in a Late Model, believed to be driving a car out of the Ludlow stable, and shouldn’t take long to get on the pace.

Add in a whole host of other names like rookie star Laura Byrnes, the always improving Joe Chalmers, 19/20 season rookie of the year Matt Amato and Daniel Ameduri who is in a race against time to ensure the car is ready for the weekend after an incident at the last show and we are sure to have yet another fast and furious night of motortainment this Saturday!

The 2020/21 BGC Late Model Pro Dirt Series proudly brought to you by Global XLI, Pancho's Mexican Restaurants, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Bulk Metal Recyclers Pty Ltd., Bar 31, Carbusters, Finlease, Grays Online, Homes by Roth, Our Car Autos, Palice Property Group, QB Copper Recycling, Ross Construction and D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant.

Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.

#bgcprodirtseries #BGC #LateModels #LMRWA

Official Nominations – 23
0 Brad Blake
A1 Kye Blight
07 Kodee Brown
8 Brent Vosbergen
14 Willy Powell
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
20 Michael Holmes
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
31 Paul Stubber
34 Matt Nylander
37 Brendan McKeagg
44 Laura Byrnes
50 Veronica McCann
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
60 Jayden Meckenstock
71 Jamie Moon
82 Matt Amato
83 Daniel Ameduri
90 David Boyes
95 Jason Bond

Late Models King of Kwinana History
2019/20 – Brent Vosbergen
2018/19 – Paul Stubber
2017/18 – Ryan Halliday
2016/17 – Not Held
2015/16 – Not Held
2014/15 – Not Held
2013/14 - Craig Vosbergen
2012/13 – Not Held
2011/12 – Not Held
2010/11 – Brad Ludlow
2009/10 – Not Held
2008/09 – Craig Vosbergen
2007/08 – Craig Vosbergen
2006/07 – Ryan Halliday (feature), Brad Blake (points)
2005/06 – Ben Ludlow
2004/05 – Brad Blake
2003/04 – Ben Ludlow
2002/03 – Brad Blake
2001/02 – Craig Vosbergen
2000/01 – Ryan Halliday