Glittering End to Season

Tonight at the Empire Bar the annual Late Models Award Night was held to celebrate the conclusion of season 2017/18.

The MC Morgan Melvin opened the awards night and welcomed CEO Jay Cardy to the microphone where he thanked Morgan for hosting as well as Chantelle Oldfield and Veronica McCann for organising the trophy night.

Jay then thanked Ian Fletcher from XLI who came on board as the naming rights sponsors of the series after seeing value in the Late Model product and choosing to invest. He also thanked Rob from CTM Recruitment, also coming on board and providing prizes that really gave back to drivers through the field.

Looking back the season that was, Jay mentioned the highlights of the year with a focus on the Di Candilo Steel City Invasion Tour, which featured five Americans and four interstate drivers, with many more from both areas already ringing for next year!

He also said thanks to Simon, Rob, Brad and Allan on the LMRWA committee, then went on to present Norm Mazzini with the CEO Award for coming into the team this season, filling extra roles and just generally helping out with a refreshing attitude.

Perth Motorplex Speedway Manager Gavin Migro then came up the front to share his appreciation of the efforts of Late Models throughout the season. He thanked them for their world class racing and mentioned the seamless relationship between the division and the Motorplex that saw them all on the same page. He finished up thanking John Di Candilo for supporting the division and congratulating all drivers.

The first award of the night was the one that drivers only get one chance to win, the Rookie of the Year. After a season long battle that came down to the final event, the rookie of the year was presented to Daniel Ameduri. From the stage he thanked his crew and all the people that helped him out, in particular Jamie and Warren Oldfield for the efforts they keep putting in as well as thanks to Mick Comley for the tussle the duo had throughout the year.

Next up was the Formatel Winter Series top three from last season with Clint Marriott awarded third, Nathan Callaghan given second place and Ken Melvin recognised as the overall winner.

AJ and Heather Nylander were next to take the microphone as they presented the AJN Pursuit of Excellence Trophy. Paul Stubber was firstly presented with a replica from last years win before AJ announced that this years winner, courtesy of on track performance as well as the work and inspiration that goes on behind the scenes, was Veronica McCann. McCann thanked everyone who stuck behind her this year, a year which she said was such a huge struggle but the people around her really kept her going.

Thanks to Webb Dillard and Dirt on Dirt a video was played next showcasing those who had finished in the top ten of the XLI Pro Dirt Series.

The top three in the XLI Pro Dirt Series were then presented with their trophies, third going to Matt Goodlad who thanked his team, second going to Jay Cardy who chose to focus on the positives of his season and the overall winners trophy going to Warren Oldfield who also thanked those who help make their team work as well as the committee for organising another solid season.

Next up the Quiet Achiever Award was presented to Joe Chalmers while Ryan Halliday was chuffed to receive the Best Presented Award which he then dedicated to his Mum.

Chief Steward Jerome Sutton chose Warren Oldfield to be the recipient of the Chief Stewards Award, with Warren appreciative of the award and thanking Jerome but then mentioning it was probably only the fact that Jamie wasn’t racing that he got it as Warren joked Jamie was Jerome’s favourite!

The final award was the Drivers Driver, which is voted on by all drivers and this year was taken out by Warren Oldfield. Once again up the front he thanked all other drivers, mentioning that he and his team try and do their bit and encourage as many people as they can and they look forward to the future.

This bought the night and indeed the season to a close. From all of us to all of you, enjoy the offseason, make sure to get to some of the Formatel Winter Series rounds and stay tuned for some season stats in the coming days before we ramp it up again for season 2018/19!!

A huge thanks to the sponsors of the XLI Pro Dirt Series and the Di Candilo Steel City USA Invasion Tour proudly bought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, CTM Recruitment, Cardy Racing Components, APM Roofing, Dirt Track Nutters, Renegade Fuels, Palice Property Group, Moyle Race Parts, Boyes Equipment SVS, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Maxima Oils, Collie Machine Shop, Southern Haulage, Car Busters and Forma-tel.

Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.


Leave a Comment