Giancola Grabs Bunbury Victory!

Giancola speed    PODIUM 1

Marc Giancola has returned to the winners circle once again in what was another great show last weekend, in an event that would honour the Krikke Boys at Bunbury Speedway.

Giancola was in fine form, setting QuickTime and recording a heat win and a second place, setting up a front row start of the feature.

Jay Cardy would also start from the front row of the feature, but after contact on a first attempt saw the field called back for a complete restart, Cardy was forced infield due to damage sustained.

Giancola would get the best of the next attempt at a start and began to pull away from the field. Behind him Brad Blake settled into second place while Michael Holmes held down third for much of the early going.

Holmes was then challenged and eventually passed by Kye Blight for third on lap eight, before heading infield two laps later, allowing Brent Vosbergen to move into fourth and Paul Joss into fifth.

With a number of other competitors including Kodee Brown, Jason Bond, Mark Webster and Jayden Meckenstock heading infield, the field was down to nine competitors remaining for the final few laps, but the order didn’t change.

Despite Blake’s best efforts Giancola crossed the line first, just 0.842 seconds ahead of Brad Blake, while Kye Blight held on for third ahead of a fast finishing Brent Vosbergen. The finishers were rounded out by Paul Joss, Chris Pavlovich, Jai Mazzini, Ken MacPherson and Morgan Melvin.

Earlier in the night Giancola was the fastest car around the Bunbury Bullring in qualifying, while Jay Cardy claimed two heat wins, with Giancola and Brad Blake claiming one win apiece.

The Late Models will have only a small break this week as they are all set to compete again this weekend at the Perth Motorplex in a very special event, where drivers will be competing topless!

Stay tuned for more details later in the week.

SPEED TORQUE ALLSTARS bonus winner Brent Vosbergen

Release by DTN Media.

Official Results

Qualifying – 1. Marc Giancola 15.979, 2. Kodee Brown 16.334, 3. Ken MacPherson 16.387, 4. Jay Cardy 16.405, 5. Kye Blight 16.615, 6. Brent Vosbergen 16.721, 7. Brad Blake 16.723, 8. Morgan Melvin 16.749, 9. Michael Holmes 16.985, 10. Paul Joss 17.269, 11. Chris Pavlovich 17.288, 12. Jed Rogers 18.115, 13. Jai Mazzini 18.232, 14. Jayden Meckenstock 18.585, 15. Mark Webster 19.053.

Heat One – 8 laps: 1.Marc Giancola, 2. Brad Blake, 3. Kye Blight, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Chris Pavlovich, 6. Jai Mazzini. DNF: Mark Webster. Total Time: 2.12.142. Winning Margin: 1.330. Fastest Lap: 15.933 Marc Giancola.

Heat Two – 8 laps: 1. Jay Cardy, 2. Kodee Brown, 3. Brent Vosbergen, 4. Paul Joss, 5. Jayden Meckenstock, 6. Jed Rogers. NF: Morgan Melvin. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.893. Fastest Lap: 15.704 Jay Cardy.

Heat Three – 8 laps: 1. Jay Cardy, 2. Marc Giancola, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Kye Blight, 5. Jai Mazzini, 6. Jason Bond. Total Time: 2.22.828. Winning Margin: 0.418. Fastest Lap: 17.079 Marc Giancola.

Heat Four – 8 laps: 1. Brad Blake, 2. Kodee Brown, 3. Chris Pavlovich, 4. Ken MacPherson, 5. Brent Vosbergen, 6. Mark Webster. DNF: Jayden Meckenstock, Paul Joss. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.118. Fastest Lap: 16.887 Brad Blake.

Feature – 20 Laps: 1. Marc Giancola, 2. Brad Blake, 3. Kye Blight, 4. Brent Vosbergen, 5. Paul Joss, 6. Chris Pavlovich, 7. Jai Mazzini, 8. Ken MacPherson, 9. Morgan Melvin (19). DNF: Jayden Meckenstock, Michael Holmes, Mark Webster, Jason Bond, Jay Cardy, Kodee Brown. DNS: Jed Rogers. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.842. Fastest Lap: 16.935 Marc Giancola.

Leave a Comment