Wild West Tour – Francis Wins Night One


American Late Model star Steve Francis has won the twenty five lap Preliminary A Main for Round One of the Supatilt Wild West Tour held at the Perth Motorplex tonight (December 26th 2012).


Francis dominated the night winning both his heat races and he led every lap of the preliminary A Main to remind the Western Australian public what he is capable of behind the wheel of a Dirt Late Model.


Following Francis home was defending Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Series champion Jamie Oldfield with American Devin Moran putting in a impressive performance to finish third in his first visit to the Perth Motorplex.


Twenty Five cars were on hand for the opening night of two to be held at the Perth Motorplex. Peter McPherson would be sidelined for the night after making contact with the wall during hot laps.


The opening heat race of the night would see Ryan Ludlow charge away to a handy lead over the field before retiring with engine issues. Jac Dolmans would then go on to win his first race in Late Models with American Devin Moran finishing second from Matt Goodlad.


Heat two would see Steve Francis charge through the pack from the rear of the field with a huge win over Brad Blake, Brad Ludlow and Jamie Oldfield who had a great scrap for the minor placings.


The third heat race of the evening once again saw Steve Francis dominate with the American winning from the front row over Craig Vosbergen and Warren Oldfield.


The final heat race of the night went the way of Devin Moran who had a great tussle throughout the ten lap event with Jamie Oldfield. Third home would be defending Perth Motorplex track champion Jay Cardy with South Australian Matt Crimmins having a high speed spin during the race. Crimmins would retire shortly after with a issue in the rear of his car.


Twenty Two cars would start the Preliminary A Main for Round One of the Supatilt Wild West Tour.


 The two American Steve Francis & Devin Moran would share the front row with Francis electing to start on the outside.


When the lights went green Francis would charge away from the field in the opening laps with Moran and Jamie Oldfield having a great battle for second. Jac Dolmans would spin to the infield after five laps while running in seventh place and retire from the race.


Michael Holmes would hit the wall while running in the top ten causing a stoppage with twelve laps to run. Brad Ludlow would then hit the wall in the same place as Holmes not long after the restart while battling for a position inside the top five. During one of the stoppages Jay Cardy would also retire from the event with broken suspension on the right rear corner of the Cardy Racing Components machine.


Francis would go on to win the preliminary feature for round one of the Wild West Series with smoking starting to come from the engine of the Ozmine Rocket with a handful of laps remaining. Jamie Oldfield would get the better of Devin Moran in the concluding laps to finish second with Moran third. Craig Vosbergen would finish in fourth ahead of the consistent Matt Goodlad, Warren Oldfield, Ben Nicastri, Koran Atkinson, Mark Matthews, Jeremy Hale, David Nylander, Matt Crimmins and Ben Ludlow who rounded out the finishers in his new car.


Francis was pleased with his opening night performance, “Good to win straight out of box, the car was real nice to drive and the Michael Holmes Racing team have given me a good car. We just had a Oil line come loose in the last few laps but that’s fine we will be back tomorrow, big thanks to everyone at Ozmine and also Valvoline for their support in making this all possible”.


The concluding night of Round One of the Supatilt Wild West Tour will be held tomorrow night at the Perth Motorplex with racing getting underway from 6pm.


For More Information about the Supatilt Wild West Tour log on towww.latemodelracing.wa.com.au.


The Supatilt Wild West Tour is apart of the 2012/2013 Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Late Model Series


Supatilt Wild West Tour Preliminary A Main Perth Motorplex Results- 1st USA91 Steve Francis, 2nd 51 Jamie Oldfield, 3rd USA99 Devin Moran, 4th 8 Craig Vosbergen, 5th 18 Matt Goodlad, 6th 15 Warren Oldfield, 7th NSW99 Ben Nicastri, 8th 63 Koran Atkinson, 9th 30 Mark Matthews, 10th 77 Jeremy Hale, 11th 54 David Nylander, 12th SA10 Matt Crimmins, 13th 9 Ben Ludlow, DNF 21 Dean King, 0 Brad Blake, 46 Jac Dolmans, 23 Clint Noakes, 52 Jay Cardy, 91 Michael Holmes, 20 Matt Noakes, 92 Brad Ludlow, 34 Matt Nylander


Late Model Racing Australia would like to thank its 2012/13 corporate partners:


Hoosier Racing Tire


Racin Tyres & Accessories


Genesis Racing Shocks


Able Finance


Southside Engine Centre


MTi group


Empire Graphics


Tillco Engineering


Ultra Tune Morley


Snap On Tools – Kalgoorlie


Lucas Oils – Brad Ludlow


MDR Trans




Ian Diffen Bunbury


Press Release – Allan Smallwood



Leave a Comment