Francis Leads after Night one of Australian Late Model Championship


American Steve Francis leads the pointscore after night one of the 2012/2013 Australian Late Model Championship at Quit Bunbury Speedway.


Francis finds himself top of the pointscore after winning both his heat races and the opening fifteen lap preliminary A main.


Michael Holmes who owns the car Francis is campaigning in the Australian Championship took the victory in the other preliminary A main held on the night.


Jamie Oldfield would be forced to borrow the car of injured driver Brad Blake for the title after his own car would have issues in hot laps. This meant Oldfield would start rear of the field for all his qualifying heat races over the weekend.


Time Trials were held prior to racing to sort the field for the eight qualifying heats to be contested on night one with Steve Francis setting quick time from Craig Vosbergen, Warren Oldfield, Ross Nicastri and Matt Goodlad.


The opening heat race of the night would see Steve Francis dominate from the front row winning comfortably over Matt Goodlad and Ryan Halliday.


Craig Vosbergen showed the potential of his new Rocket in heat two with a big win over Ben Ludlow and Michael Holmes. American youngster Devin Moran would retire from the race with engine issues ending his night early.


Warren Oldfield would be too good for his older brother Jason Oldfield in heat three with Brad Ludlow and New South Wales driver Darryl Grimson having a good battle for third.


The final heat race of the opening round would see Matt Noakes charge away from the field and lead for the opening eight laps before he would suffer a flat left rear tyre and retire to the infield. Lee Watt would inherit the lead and score maximum points with victory over South Aussie Matt Crimmins and Simon McNab.


Steve Francis charged through the field in heat five to win from local Bunbury driver Michael Hamon and Jac Dolmans.


In heat six Paul Joss led from start to finish with Craig Vosbergen charging home to almost steal the victory on the last lap.


Warren Oldfield scored his second heat win of the night in heat seven with Koran Atkinson and Kalgoorlie’s Ray Leonard following him home.


Jamie Oldfield would have the crowd cheering in the final heat race of the evening putting in a great drive to win over Darryl Grimson and Jason Oldfield.


Two preliminary A mains held with drivers split into two groups based on their points standings after the heat races.


American Steve Francis continued his domination of night one with a flag to flag victory in the opening preliminary A main. Craig Vosbergen would be within sight of Francis at race end with Matt Goodlad, Phil Zuidema and Matt Noakes rounding out the top five. Both Jason Oldfield and Darryl Grimson would retire with flat tyres while running inside the top five.


Michael Holmes charged home in the second preliminary A main with a great drive passing Warren Oldfield for the lead at half race distance. Michael Hamon would spin in front of Brad Ludlow while inside the top five with Ludlow spinning to avoid Hamon with Peter Seaton slamming into the side of Ludlow. Ludlow would be the only car not to restart after the bingle with Lee Watt also retiring from the race after running in a strong position.


The second and final night of the 2013 Australian Late Model Championship will see drivers each contest one more heat race. The top sixteen competitors in the pointscore will then qualify directly into the forty lap championship A main. The top sixteen will contest two dashes races with the field split into two groups.


The competitors that are outside the top sixteen will contest the B main with the top four going into the A main.


Make sure you get along to Quit Bunbury Speedway tonight for the conclusion of the 2012/2013 Australian Late Model Championship


Official Results from Night One of the 2012/2013 Australian Late Model Championship


Heat One – Ten Laps: 1. USA91 Steve Francis, 2. 18 Matt Goodlad, 3. 99 Ryan Halliday, 4. 23 Clint Noakes, 5. 46 Jac Dolmans, 6. 21 Dean King, 7. 31 Dale Clark, 8. 54 David Nylander, 9. 3 Mick Clune, Time for Ten Laps was 2.44.497


Heat Two – Ten Laps: 1. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 2. 9 Ben Ludlow, 3. 91 Michael Holmes, 4. 39 Phil Zuidema, 5. 22 Paul Joss, DNF USA99 Devin Moran, 57 Michael Hamon, 65 Peter Seaton


Heat Three – Ten Laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. 55 Jason Oldfield, 3. 92 Brad Ludlow, 4. NSW6 Darryl Grimson, 5. 0 Jamie Oldfield, 6. SA5 Luke Raymond, 7. 4 Bert Vosbergen, DNF 63 Koran Atkinson


Heat Four – Ten Laps: 1. 10 Lee Watt, 2. SA10 Matt Crimmins, 3. 49 Simon McNab, 4. 13 Craig Greentree, 5. 5 Ray Leonard, 6. 34 Matt Nylander, DNF 20 Matt Noakes


Heat Five – Ten Laps: 1. USA91 Steve Francis, 2. 57 Michael Hamon, 3. 46 Jac Dolmans, 4. 99 Ryan Halliday, 5. 91 Michael Holmes, 6. 65 Peter Seaton, 7. 21 Dean King, 8. 3 Mick Clune


Heat Six – Ten Laps: 1. 22 Paul Joss, 2. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 3. 39 Phil Zuidema, 4. 54 David Nylander, 5. 9 Ben Ludlow, 6. 18 Matt Goodlad, 7. 23 Clint Noakes, 8. 31 Dale Clark


Heat Seven – Ten Laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. 63 Koran Atkinson, 3. 5 Ray Leonard, 4. 10 Lee Watt, 5. 13 Craig Greentree, DNF 34 Matt Nylander, 4 Bert Vosbergen


Heat Eight – Ten Laps: 1. 0 Jamie Oldfield, 2. NSW6 Darryl Grimson, 3. 55 Jason Oldfield, 4. SA5 Luke Raymond, 5. SA10 Matt Crimmins, 6. 49 Simon McNab, DNF 20 Matt Noakes


Preliminary A Main One- 15 Laps: 1. USA91 Steve Francis, 2. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 3. 18 Matt Goodlad, 4. 39 Phil Zuidema, 5. 20 Matt Noakes, 6. 63 Koran Atkinson, 7. 31 Dale Clark, 8. 54 David Nylander, 9. 4 Bert Vosbergen, 10. 5 Ray Leonard, 11. 3 Mick Clune, DNF 55 Jason Oldfield, NSW6 Darryl Grimson, 34 Matt Nylander, SA5 Luke Raymond, 49 Simon McNab


Preliminary A Main Two- 15 Laps: 1. 91 Michael Holmes, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 99 Ryan Halliday, 4. 46 Jac Dolmans, 5. SA10 Matt Crimmins, 6. 9 Ben Ludlow, 7. 0 Jamie Oldfield, 8. 65 Peter Seaton, 9. 21 Dean King, 10. 22 Paul Joss, 11. 57 Michael Hamon, 12. 13 Craig Greentree, 13. 23 Clint Noakes, DNF 92 Brad Ludlow, 10 Lee Watt


Pointscore after Night one of the 2013 Australian Late Model Championship at Quit Bunbury Speedway


1. USA91 Steve Francis 180


2. W15 Warren Oldfield 172


3. W8 Craig Vosbergen 164


4. W91 Michael Holmes 144


5. W99 Ryan Halliday 135


6. W18 Matt Goodlad 133


7. W39 Phil Zuidema 129


8. W0 Jamie Oldfield 129


9. SA10 Matt Crimmins 126


10. W10 Lee Watt 126


11. W22 Paul Joss 125


12. W46 Jac Dolmans 125


13. W55 Jason Oldfield 125


14. NSW6 Darryl Grimson 118


15. W5 Ray Leonard 112


16. W63 Koran Atkinson 110


17. W49 Simon McNabb 106


18. W13 Craig Greentree 104


19. W57 Michael Hamon 103


20. W54 David Nylander 101


21. SA5 Luke Raymond 100


22. W23 Clint Noakes 98


23. W21 Dean King 95


24. W31 Dale Clark 94


25. W65 Peter Seaton 88


26. W9 Ben Ludlow 87


27. W3 Mick Clune 86


28. W4 Bert Vosbergen 85


29. W20 Matt Noakes 85


30. W34 Matt Nylander 83


31. W92 Brad Ludlow 60


32. NSW99 Ross Nicastri 36


33. USA99 Devin Moran 36

Press Release for Late Model Racing Australia by Allan Smallwood


Check out all the lastest video’s from Late Model Racing Australia You Tube Channel




Leave a Comment