Fast Freddy in Fine Form!

Tonight at the Albany Speedway Club ‘Fast’ Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) raced his way to his first ever Late Model feature race win in what was night one of the Easter Grand Prix event!
Freddy put in a solid effort throughout the night to be second in qualifying, second in both of his heats and then start in position three for the thirty-lap feature behind the front row of Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) and Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:).
Vosbergen in particular was looking to dominate in the feature, having already claimed the win in qualifying and both of his heat races to start from pole position, but it was Chalmers who got the jump on the outside as the race went green, pulling away quickly from Brent.
Vosbergen would quickly come under pressure from Kinsella, the duo fighting side by side as Chalmers began to extend his lead, while behind them the brothers Nylander, David and Matt (Nylander Motorsport), were also duking it out.
The leaders encountered the first of the lapped traffic in the fourth lap and herein lay the first problem, as the leaders meeting the lapped traffic resulted in a number of cars making contact, Brent Vosbergen the worst off as he spun and ended up facing backwards on the front straight with significant damage.
Luckily all were able to restart, and Chalmers would lead away as Kinsella got the jump on Vosbergen and moved into second with Matt Nylander following him through into third.
Vosbergen would battle with David Nylander immediately after, but unfortunately for Vosbergen what appeared to be a slight miscalculation, or perhaps from damage sustained earlier, he would end up in the turn four wall and was left to exit the race very unhappily with a significantly damaged car.
The next restart was a bit of a messy one for Kinsella as he was behind leader Chalmers, which allowed Matt Nylander to race through for second, and Nylander would then begin to challenge Chalmers for the lead, diving under him through turn three to lead lap six.
Freddy Kinsella would then get a heap of speed coming out of turn two on the seventh lap and shoot past Chalmers for second, the lead group of four very quickly finding themselves in lapped traffic and being forced to thread the needle on multiple occasions.
Lap nine saw Kinsella try for the lead through turn three and eventually grab it on lap nine, but as the lead duo made it through turn one Matt Nylander got out of shape with Chalmers, spinning at a rate of knots, a number of cars also getting involved and Nylander being sent rear on the restart.
Twenty-two remained as the race went green again and Kinsella got away as David Nylander went high to grab second, Chalmers fighting him on the low line as Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) and David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport) hung right behind him.
From here the field began to spread out, but Matt Nylander meanwhile was charging his way back through the field, into sixth place by lap ten.
On lap twenty three David Nylander had a moment in lapped traffic and hit the turn two wall, allowing Chalmers underneath him for second while Holmes continued to lurk right behind them.
With five laps to go Matt Nylander passed David Boyes for fifth, then set out after Holmes. The duo would fight it out in traffic, but would ultimately make contact seeing Holmes climb over the top of Nylander, Nylander’s race over.
Kinsella shots away on the restart as Chalmers came under fire from David Nylander and Holmes but in the end the order remained unchanged, Kinsella racing away to his first Late Model feature race win, defeating Chalmers and David Nylander, while Holmes and David Boyes rounded out the other finishers on the lead lap.
The best news about tonight’s racing is that we get to do it all over again tomorrow night, and with more money on the line and plenty of laps under everyone’s belt from tonight, it is sure to be a cracker Easter Sunday Showdown!
A huge thanks to the event sponsors: Kacen Hydraulic Repairs, Albany Forklifts & Industries, AFI Towing, Great Southern Boundries, Sadlers Butchers, Auswest 4WD, Muffler Rebel, Steve Franey, Dejonge Mechanical Repairs, Bennetts Batteries Lubricants and Filters, Harvs Tyres and Kosters Steel Constructions, plus also to Graeme McSweeney for putting the whole deal together!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy JSP/DTN Media.
Official Results
Qualifying, 2 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen 15.288, 2. Freddy Kinsella 16.269, 3. Matt Nylander 16.463, 4. Rod Musarra 16.664, 5. Damian Hudson 16.744, 6. Michael Holmes 16.796, 7. Bryden Southwell 17.277, 8. David Boyes 17.322, 9. David Nylander 17.367, 10. Ben Strautins 17.749, 11. Joe Chalmers 18.342, 12. Greg Horan 18.649, 13. Chris Kent 18.764, 14. Peter Mewett 19.743, 15. Shannon Knowles 19.825, 16. Darren Ahearn 19.848, 17. Daniel Ameduri NTT.
Heat One, 4 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Joe Chalmers, 3. Matt Nylander, 4. Damian Hudson, 5. David Nylander, 6. Chris Kent, 7. Bryden Southwell. DNF: Shannon Knowles (1). DNS: Darren Ahearn. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.556. Fastest Lap: 15.873 Brent Vosbergen.
Heat Two, 10 laps: 1. Rod Musarra, 2. Freddy Kinsella, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Greg Horan, 5. David Boyes, 6. Ben Strautins, 7. Peter Mewett (9). DNS: Daniel Ameduri. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.502. Fastest Lap: 16.998 Rod Musarra.
Heat Three, 10 laps: 1. Joe Chalmers, 2. Freddy Kinsella, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Ben Strautins, 5. Bryden Southwell. DNF: Matt Nylander (3), Chris Kent (1). DNS: Daniel Ameduri. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 3.180. Fastest Lap: 16.250 Joe Chalmers.
Heat Four, 10 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. David Nylander, 3. Rod Musarra, 4. Damian Hudson, 5. David Boyes, 6. Peter Mewett (9). DNF: Darren Ahearn (1), Greg Horan (1). DNS: Shannon Knowles. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.489. Fastest Lap: 16.317 Brent Vosbergen.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. Freddy Kinsella, 2. Joe Chalmers, 3. David Nylander, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. David Boyes, 6. Rod Musarra (29), 7. Ben Strautins (29), 8. Damian Hudson (29), 9. Greg Horan (29), 10. Bryden Southwell (29), 11. Chris Kent (27), 12. Peter Mewett (24). DNF: Shannon Knowles (21), Brent Vosbergen (4). DQ: Matt Nylander. DNS: Daniel Ameduri, Darren Ahearn. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.698. Fastest Lap: 16.882 Freddy Kinsella.