Classic Confrontation goes to Craig

Last night at Bunbury Speedway saw the Late Model division consistently put on some great racing, with the feature race being hailed by many, including the chief steward, as one of the greatest Late Model races they have ever seen.

Although on paper it would appear that Craig Vosbergen dominated the nights proceedings, he certainly didn’t have it all his own way, particularly in the feature where he was hounded by both Brad Blake and Warren Oldfield for the entire race.

With nineteen starters for the feature, it was Warren Oldfield who got the jump  and took the lead while Brad Blake dove into second shortly after. Vosbergen fought back on the outside but Blake held steady to settle into second. Matt Goodlad raced into fourth place and the four lead cars began to pull away.

On lap three Vosbergen went underneath Blake and as the group approached lapped traffic Blake and Vosbergen closed on Oldfield. On lap eleven Vosbergen made his move and went outside Oldfield for the lead while Blake dropped back slightly after being held up in lapped traffic. It was at this time that Michael Holmes made his way into fourth, albeit a long way behind the leading trio.

Vosbergen weaved in and out of traffic as Oldfield and Blake followed him through until the yellows came on for a spun Jason Oldfield on the back straight with just eight laps remaining of the original thirty lap distance. The restart saw Blake go high to pass Warren Oldfield for second before the yellows came on once more.

The race resumed and Blake began applying serious pressure to Vosbergen as he had a look on the inside and then on the outside of Vosbergen. With seven to go Blake ducked inside and grabbed the lead but Vosbergen grabbed the lead back before Blake tried again and Vosbergen again fought back. As the duo approached lapped traffic once more, Blake went inside of a lapped car while Vosbergen went high. Blake came out at the point just as the yellows came on for Paul Joss, who had made contact with the turn one wall, putting Blake back into second as a lap had not been completed.

Oldfield was back on the scene at the restart and looked for a way under Blake, but Blake pulled away and went under Vosbergen for the lead with three to go. The duo battled once more with Oldfield sitting right on their tails until the yellows came out once more, setting up a green, white chequer finish.

Unfortunately, Blake was forced infield before the restart and was visibly frustrated after his car suffered battery problems. Vosbergen led the field away at the final restart with Oldfield throwing everything but the kitchen sink at him trying to gain the lead but in the end Vosbergen was too good as he claimed the win from Warren Oldfield, Holmes and Jason Oldfield.

Earlier in the night, after significant rainfall which left the track very slippery, Vosbergen claimed the opening win ahead of Jason Oldfield who had a hard fought battle with Brad Blake. The second heat saw Jay Cardy slam the wall hard in hot laps before the race and fail to start while Warren Oldfield went on to dominate the race and take the win from Nat Muir and Brad Ludlow, racing in his brother Ryan’s #29 machine, rather than his usual #92.

Despite a restart for a few spun cars, Matt Goodlad grabbed the win in heat three from Jay Cardy and Blake while heat four saw Giancola take the win from Ludlow and Warren Oldfield.

The A Dash went to Vosbergen with Blake crossing the line second but being relegated two positions for a pass on the infield, leaving Warren Oldfield and Goodlad second and third respectively. Jamie Moon claimed his first win in a Late Model as he crossed first in the B Dash ahead of Zudeima and Joss.

The Late Models will be back in action next weekend at the Perth Motorplex and with a big field expected, its going to be one you don’t want to miss!

Release by DTN Media.

Official Results
Heat One – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Jason Oldfield, 3. Brad Blake, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Jamie Moon, 6. Matt Goodlad, 7. Lee Watt, 8. Phil Zudeima, 9. Alec Melvin. DNF: Lance Ferguson.

Heat Two – 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Nat Muir, 3. Brad Ludlow, 4. Marc Giancola, 5. Ken MacPherson, 6. Paul Joss, 7. Morgan Melvin, 8. Chris Ferguson. DNS: Jay Cardy, Brad Boley.

Heat Three – 1. Matt Goodlad, 2. Jay Cardy, 3. Brad Blake, 4. Nat Muir, 5. Jason Oldfield, 6. Paul Joss, 7. Jamie Moon, 8. Alec Melvin, 9. Morgan Melvin, 10. Ken MacPherson.

Heat Four – 1. Marc Giancola, 2. Brad Ludlow, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Craig Vosbergen, 5. Michael Holmes, 6. Phil Zudeima, 7. Chris Ferguson. DNS: Lance Ferguson, Brad Boley, Lee Watt.

A Dash – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Matt Goodlad, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Michael Holmes, 6. Nat Muir, 7. Jason Oldfield, 8. Jay Cardy. DNF: Marc Giancola, Brad Ludlow.

B Dash – 1. Jamie Moon, 2. Phil Zudeima, 3. Paul Joss, 4. Ken MacPherson, 5. Brad Boley, 6. Morgan Melvin, 7. Alec Melvin. DNS: Lance Ferguson. Chris Ferguson, Lee Watt.

Feature Race – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Jason Oldfield, 5. Marc Giancola, 6. Jay Cardy, 7. Matt Goodlad, 8. Lee Watt, 9. Brad Boley, 10. Jamie Moon, 11. Alec Melvin, 12. Nat Muir, 13. Chris Ferguson. DNF: Brad Blake, Brad Ludlow, Morgan Melvin, Paul Joss, Phil Zudeima, Ken MacPherson. DNS: Lance Ferguson.


Leave a Comment