Chalmers Claims Easter Grand Prix!

Last night at the Albany Speedway Club, Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) claimed the Easter Grand Prix win in what was a tough night for the whole competition.
Fourteen cars would return for night two, with Chalmers hitting the front early as he recorded quicktime, while night two winner Abbey Pickering (All About Racing) was second quick and Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) was third fastest after performing repairs to his machine overnight.
Heat race wins went to Chalmers and Nylander, while Pickering’s luck would end in the Mid Pack Dash when while leading, she launched skywards on the front straight, seeing her with significant damage and unable to start the twenty-lap feature event.
As the main event went green, Chalmers was quickly into the lead ahead of Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) while Peter Walker would fight for third with Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports).
Darren Ahearn (Ahearn Racing W.A), coming from the very back after a DNF in the mid pack race, spun in turn four but was able to keep going despite kicking up a pile of dust, meaning Chalmers would quickly approach the first of the lapped cars.
Luckily for Chalmers the yellows came out as he began to look for a way through, Shaun Cubbage out of the race after just three laps.
Chalmers cleared away at the start as Holmes came under pressure from Walker for second, but it didn’t last long as Ben Strautins (BAS Racing) came to a stop down the back straight, a number of cars sliding in and spinning to a stop to avoid him.
After the mess was cleared up, again led the race away followed by Holmes, Walker and Barrow, Chalmers splitting the seam and back into lapped traffic.
The battle for third intensified between Walker and Barrow, Walker going lower on the track to pass a lapped car into turn three and Barrow arriving on the scene at the same time, the duo clashing and Walker coming to a stop on the main straight.
Walker’s race was over while Barrow was relegated on the restart, seeing Chalmers now leading away Holmes, Sean Barrett (Beaumont Motorsports) and Nathan Richards.
Barrow fought back and got by Richards for fourth, then pressured Barrett for third before spinning himself to a stop in turn one, once again however being permitted to restart after the yellow light.
Chalmers again raced into the lead, Holmes clear in second and Barret continued to hold down third, with Barrow, Ahearn, Richards, Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) and Kris Kent behind him.
Again Barrow ran low looking under Barrett but Ahearn took the chance and swept by both on the outside, Barrow getting underneath Barrett at the same time.
From here the order remained unchanged, Chalmers going on to record a convincing win over Holmes and an impressive Darren Ahearn.
Release by DTN Media.
Pic Courtesy Albany Speedway Club.
Official Results
Qualifying, 2 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers 15.636, 2. 95 Abbey Pickering 16.520, 3. 34 Matt Nylander 16.574, 4. 6 Peter Walker 16.753, 5. 91 Michael Holmes 17.080, 6. 76 Ben Strautins 17.087, 7, 39 Chris Barrow 17.200, 8. 74 Nathan Richards 17.397, 9. 04 Greg Horan 17.613, 10. 49 Sean Barrett 17.678, 11. 119 Darren Ahearn 18.193, 12. 7 Shaun Cubbage 18.782, 13. 355 Kris Kent 19.036, 14. 333 Aaron Liddell 19.873.
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers, 2. 6 Peter Walker, 3. 91 Michael Holmes, 4. 95 Abbey Pickering, 5. 39 Chris Barrow, 6. 355 Kris Kent (7). DNS: 119 Darren Ahearn. Total Time: 2.14.749. Winning Margin: 5.397. Fastest Lap: 15.824 Joe Chalmers.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 34 Matt Nylander, 2. 74 Nathan Richards, 3. 49 Sean Barrett, 4. 04 Greg Horan, 5. 7 Shaun Cubbage, 6. 333 Aaron Liddell (7). DNF: 76 Ben Strautins (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 10.440. Fastest Lap: 16.363 Matt Nylander.
Silver Shootout, 3 laps: 1. 91 Michael Holmes 16.775, 2. 6 Peter Walker 17.511, 3. 74 Nathan Richards 17.786, 4. 49 Sean Barrett 18.172.
Gold Shootout, 3 laps: 1. 34 Matt Nylander 16.675, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers 16.824, 3. 91 Michael Holmes 17.180, 4. 6 Peter Walker 17.544.
Mid Pack Madness, 8 laps: 1. 39 Chris Barrow, 2. 04 Greg Horan, 3. 76 Ben Strautins, 4. 7 Shaun Cubbage, 5. 355 Kris Kent (7), 6. 333 Aaron Liddell (7). DNF: 95 Abbey Pickering (2), 119 Darren Ahearn (2).
Feature, 20 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers, 2. 91 Michael Holmes, 3. 119 Darren Ahearn, 4. 39 Chris Barrow, 5. 49 Sean Barrett, 6. 74 Nathan Richards (19), 7. 04 Greg Horan (18), 8. 355 Kris Kent (15). DNF: 6 Peter Walker (😎, 333 Aaron Liddell (😎, 76 Ben Strautins (3), 7 Shaun Cubbage (3). DNS: 34 Matt Nylander, 95 Abbey Pickering. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 7.420. Fastest Lap: 15.904 Joe Chalmers.