Cardy Claims Collie!


Last night at QUIT Collie Speedway Jay Cardy claimed his first feature win of the season as he defeated Brad Blake and Michael Holmes in round 13 of the Hoosier Racing Tyre Late Model Pro Dirt Series.


Although Cardy only led one lap of the feature, it was the one that counted after Craig Vosbergen led the rest of the race after starting on the front row.


After a first lap pile up that eliminated Jason Moyle and Ryan Halliday, once green the race stopped only once. That stoppage was for Marc Giancola who broke down and attempted to get off the track, with Phil Zuidema getting stuck.


For the majority of the race,  Craig Vosbergen led Jay Cardy, Brad Blake and Michael Holmes, with the leading pack only getting into lapped traffic in the closing stages of the race. This is testament to the fact that even the back markers have improved and most of the cars are running at around the same speed, a huge coup for the Late Model division as a whole.


The white flag flew with Vosbergen still leading when he attempted to pass a lapped car and ended up drifting high and touching the wall, allowing Cardy through for the lead with Blake and Holmes also getting underneath.


Cardy was understandably thrilled with his win, especially in a beautifully presented car that impressed many. Indeed Cardy had a great night, claiming a heat win and a second place in his other before coming home second in the A Dash to secure a front row start.


Earlier heat wins went the way of Vosbergen (two), Cardy and Ryan Halliday. The B Dash went to Jamie Moon while Vosbergen took out the A Dash from Cardy and Moyle.


One drive worthy of mentioning is that of Alec Melvin. The rookie has only contested a handful of meetings yet managed to qualify into the A Dash after being sixth highest on points and then managed to record seventh place in the feature. Melvin has impressed many, including the Late Models Chief Steward Jerome Sutton and has a very promising future in the division,


The  Hoosier Tyre Late Model Pro Dirt Series now takes a break until their next round at the Perth Motorplex on the 29th of March as a number of our drivers will be ding east to compete in the national title at Mount Gambier in South Australia on the 8th of March.


Release by DTN Media.


Official Results


Heat One – 1.  Michael Holmes, 2. Jay Cardy, 3. Matt Goodlad, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Rob  Galloway, 6. Nat Muir. DNF: Ryan Halliday.


Heat Two – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Jason Moyle, 3. Marc Giancola, 4. Alec Melvin, 5. Jamie Moon, 6. Jac Dolmans, 7. Phil Zuidema.


Heat Three – 1. Jay Cardy, 2. Phil Zuidema, 3. Alec Melvin, 4. Jason Moyle, 5. Jamie Moon, 6. Michael Holmes, 7. Rob Galloway.


Heat Four – 1. Ryan Halliday, 2. Jac Dolmans, 3. Craig Vosbergen, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Nat Muir, 6. Matt Goodlad. DNF: Marc Giancola.


A Dash – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Jay Cardy, 3. Jason Moyle, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Brad Blake, 6. Alec Melvin, 7. Matt Goodlad, 8. Jac Dolmans.


B Dash – 1. Jamie Moon, 2. Ryan Halliday, 3. Rob Galloway, 4. Phil Zuidema. DNF: Nat Muir


Feature – 1. Jay Cardy, 2. Brad Blake, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Craig Vosbergen, 5. Matt Goodlad, 6. Jamie Moon, 7. Alec Melvin, 8. Phil Zuidema, 9. Jac Dolmans, 10. Rob Galloway. DNF: Ryan Halliday, Jason Moyle, Marc Giancola, Nat Muir.



Late Model Racing WA would like to thank all the 2013-2014 Corporate Partners:


Hoosier Racing Tire

Able Finance

Empire Graphics

Moyle Engines

Southside Engine Centre

Tillco Engineering

Ultra Tune Morley

Snap On Tools Kalgoorlie

Immaculate Detailing

Homebuyers Centre

Racin Tyres & Accessories

Rocket Chassis

Sell Lease Property

Couplers Malaga

GMH Carpentry

Nationwide Signs

Hamon Tyre & Exhaust Centre

Dirt Track Nutters

Leave a Comment