Brad Blake just gets Better and Better



Like a fine wine, Brad Blake just gets better and better with age. After last season saw him suffer an arm injury and then make the difficult decision to retire from racing, Blake has
returned to the sport he loves so dearly with an absolute vengeance.

After claiming third place in the opening Hoosier Pro Dirt Series round at Ellenbrook Speedway, Blake last night stepped it up a notch to take out the rain delayed Grand Opening Showdown at the Perth Motorplex which doubled as round two of the

Blake was undefeated all night, claiming two heat wins from two starts; the first one after starting towards the back of the pack and the second from the second row. The hard luck story of the night went to Craig Vosbergen who, after being undefeated in his heats like Blake, started off pole alongside Blake for the final. Vosbergen shot away to
the lead and fought off Blake until there were just nine laps remaining when he
was forced infield with a flat tyre. Had he not had the issues that saw him
register a DNF, the top three would have had the same drivers as at the opening
round, as last rounds winner Warren Oldfield was settled comfortably in third.
With Vosbergen’s demise, Oldfield stepped it up a notch and attempted to take it
up to Blake, while third placed Michael Holmes also stuck his nose underneath
the duo a number of times as the three battled in incredibly close quarters.

Indeed, the feature race was one that set many tongues wagging, with great battles throughout the field. Although most eyes were on the battle up the front between Blake and Vosbergen, and then Blake, Oldfield and Holmes, there were also cars fighting for position right through the pack.

Eighteen cars greeted the feature race green flag after Brad and Ryan Ludlow failed to make the start after earlier heat race dramas, while Nat Muir, Jac Dolmans and Bryn
Haythornthwaite didn’t make the event due to other commitments after the
original Saturday race date last weekend was rained out. Jay Cardy and Marc
Giancola made contact early on, with Giancola hitting the wall and retiring
after just two laps. Ben Ludlow and Jamie Moon then made contact in turn one on
lap eight, with both hitting the wall and Ludlow retiring immediately, while
Moon completed two more laps before also retiring. Meanwhile the battle raged up
front, with Vosbergen eventually pulling out and allowing Blake to go on and
take the win from Oldfield and Holmes.

Earlier in the night Blake and Vosbergen swept all the heats, with Vosbergen lucky to
claim the opener. Originally Ben Ludlow, Mick Hamon and Lee Watt were in a
three way battle for the lead until Ludlow and Watt made contact, with Watt
being put rear as primary cause. Vosbergen made the most of the restart and shot
into the lead and went on to claim the win from Goodlad and Ryan Ludlow. Heat
two was a dominant win for Blake, while heat three saw Vosbergen back up his
earlier win as he drove away to greet the chequers first. The final heat saw
Blake fight hard with Hamon and Oldfield to claim the win.

The Late Model Sedans now take a fortnights break before they head back to the high banks of the Perth Motorplex for the third round of the Hoosier Pro Dirt Series. the event doubles as the Magic Man tribute night and because of the high esteem that ‘Figs’ was held in, one would expect a large field of the thunder and lightning Late Models to hit the track.
Stay tuned for a release in the coming weeks to find out who has nominated for
the event and all the latest news.

Release by DTN Media.


Official Results
Heat One – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Matt Goodlad, 3. Ryan Ludlow, 4. Jay Cardy, 5. Phil Zudeima, 6. Brad Boley, 7. Lee Watt, 8. Ben Ludlow, 9. Mick Hamon. DNF: Craig

Heat Two – 1. Brad Blake, 2. Brad Ludlow, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Jeremy Hale, 6. Marc Giancola, 7. Jamie Moon, 8. Rob Galloway, 9. Koran Atkinson. DNF: Simon McNab.
Heat Three – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Marc Giancola, 3. Lee Watt, 4. Jay Cardy, 5. Koran Atkinson, 6. Ben Ludlow, 7. Michael Holmes, 8. Jeremy Hale, 9. Matt Goodlad, 10. Brad Boley, 11. Rob Galloway.

Heat Four – 1. Brad Blake, 2. Mick Hamon, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Phil Zudeima, 5. Jamie Moon, 6. Ryan Ludlow, 7. Simon McNab. DNF: Craig Greentree.

Feature Race
1. Brad Blake, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Matt Goodlad, 5. Phil
Zudeima, 6. Lee Watt, 7. Mick Hamon, 8. Koran Atkinson, 9. Brad Boley, 10. Simon
McNab. DNF; Craig Vosbergen, Jeremy Hale, Jay Cardy, Jamie Moon, Ben Ludlow,
Craig Greentree, Rob Galloway, Marc Giancola. DNS: Ryan Ludlow, Brad


Late Model Racing WA would like to thank all the 2013-2014 Corporate
Hoosier Racing Tire
Empire Graphics
Southside Engine
Tillco Engineering
Ultra Tune
Snap On Tools Kalgoorlie
Homebuyers Centre
Racin Tyres &
Rocket Chassis
Sell Lease
Couplers Malaga
Nationwide Signs
Hamon Tyre &
Exhaust Centre
Dirt Track Nutters







Leave a Comment