Boxing Day Bonanza!

This week is an exciting one for many, but the best part of the festive season is set to come once all the presents are unwrapped and the food is eaten as the thunder and lightning Late Models will be back in action on Boxing Day!
This Sunday night at the Perth Motorplex, twenty-four drivers have nominated for the sixth round of the 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by the Dirt Track Nutters, and it is sure to bring 2021 to a close with a bang!
There is a massive rivalry developing between Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) and Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR), each having claimed two wins apiece so far this season. The duo are never far apart, and have each finished on the podium at every show they have contested this season, an impressive effort considering the quality of the Late Model fields. This battle is sure to hit fever pitch this weekend and the line has been drawn in the sand, so which team are you, #TeamVos or #TeamBlight?
Of course, there are more than just those two drivers in the field, with an incredible list of names nominated and nearly half of them having experienced Late Model feature race success in the past!
Headlining that list would be Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing), the only other person to claim a Pro Dirt feature this season alongside Blight and Vosbergen and comes into this event as the last start Pro Dirt winner at the Motorplex. Goodlad too has not been off the podium in the shows he has contested in the 2021/22 season, so it may well be worth jumping on board with #TeamMatt!
Jason and Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) have both had two podium finishes so far this season, while Brad Blake has three including a win at Ellenbrook. Blake will be raring to go after missing the last show waiting for parts while Jason is hot off an amazing performance that saw him fighting hard for second in Albany Speedway Club before settling for third. Warren is also desperate to capitalise on his success at the Motorplex in last weekends FAST show, so all three drivers will be ones to keep an eye on.
Damo Hudson and Robbie Cox (Robbie Cox Racing) both make their Pro Dirt Series debut this weekend and will be hoping to get some laps in against the best in the business, while we also welcome back names like Richard Wells (CTM Recruitment Racing), Paul Stubber and David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) who haven’t been seen in recent rounds but will be hoping to make an impact this Sunday night.
Add in all the regulars like Ameduri (Ameduri Motorsports), McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing), Musarra (Rod Musarra Racing #12), Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing), Kinsella (Team Green Racing) and Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) amongst many, many others and once again we have a show not to be missed.
It’s not too late to ask your family and friends for the one thing you really want for Christmas….tickets to the Perth Motorplex for the Boxing night show, so there are no excuses, we will see you trackside this Boxing Night for the sixth round of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by the Dirt Track Nutters!
The 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, Mcphee Transport, Global Testing Services, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, APM Roofing and Gutters, Boyes Eqs and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.
Official Nominations – 24
0 Brad Blake
A1 Kye Blight
3 Robbie Cox
4 Brent Vosbergen
07 Kodee Brown
10 Cody Avins
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
21 Rod Musarra
22 Richard Wells
23 Joe Chalmers
31 Paul Stubber
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
55 Peter Mewett
71 Jamie Moon
74 Nathan Richards
80 Damian Hudson
83 Daniel Ameduri
91 Michael Holmes
318 Freddy Kinsella