Blights Threepeat!

Albany Speedway Club has always been a happy hunting ground for Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) and this weekend was no exception for him, making it another undefeated night in the Late Model and leading every lap in the feature to race away for his third win of the season and second of the Wild West Showdown!
The show, which also doubled as the ninth round of the Pro Dirt Series thanks to McPhee Freight, attracted nineteen competitors, with heat race wins being shared between Blight (2), Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) and Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team).
This of course meant that Blight would start from pole position, joined by the returning Kodee Brown.
The race would take three attempts to get underway, but each time Blight was simply too good, Brown washing up high in the loose stuff and dropping positions.
Attempt one saw Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) spinning in the middle of the field after contact with Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) to set up a complete restart while the second try would see a multi car pile up on turn one that would eliminate Mat Robbins (Robbins Motorsport ) from the race.
Finally the feature would get underway, Blight leading away Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) with Warren Oldfield into third while Brown and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) would loc out the top five.
Just two laps in thought the yellows would come on again, this time for Jason Oldfield who was stranded at the top of turn four after contact with Ken Macpherson.
Warren Oldfield would move into second behind Blight when the race went green once again, Brown also able to get back into third while Joe Chalmers advanced into the top five.
Over the next the order would remain in jaws, though Brad Smith (Brad Smith Devil Motorsports 6T) and then Nathan Richards would retire infield, as would Ken Macpherson at the halfway mark.
Just after this, Chalmers would sneak his way past Jamie Oldfield for fifth, with the cautions coming out shortly after as a car spun at the bottom of turn four.
On the restart Brown, who was still holding down third, would spin in turn three to bring out the cautions once more, elevating Chalmers to third on the restart.
Amazingly on the restart, cars from positions three to six washed up track, allowing Victorian Champion Peter Nicola (NRT – Nicola Racing Team) to dive through on the inside and take over the fourth place running and pressure Chalmers for third.
Another restart shortly after saw the field bunches up once again and Nicola did much the same as the last start, this time moving into third place.
From here, Blight continued to do what he had done all night, racing away from the field despite an initial challenge from Warren Oldfield, going on to claim a dominant win from Oldfield with Nicola recording his first ever WA podium finish.
Blight would climb straight from his car and into a Production Sedan for their feature which he also won, meaning his birthday celebrations that night would’ve been all the sweeter!
Teams now have a few days to get home, wash up and prepare for the big one, the Late Model Nationals across two nights at the Perth Motorplex, doubling as the final nights of the Wild West Showdown!
The 2023/24 Pro Dirt Series is proudly supported by
Release by DTN Media.
Pic Courtesy LMRWA.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Sitter – Kye Blight
Heatley’s Hard Charger – Jeff Roth (+8)
Ross’s All Star Award – Abbey Pickering
Supafit Supa 7th Place – Jay Cardy
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 26 Ken Macpherson, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 11 Jason Oldfield, 5. 07 Kodee Brown, 6. V1 Peter Nicola, 7. T6 Brad Smith, 8. 57 Mat Robbins, 9. 74 Nathan Richards. DNS: USA14 Jeff Roth. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.408. Fastest Lap: 16.107 Jamie Oldfield.
Heat Two, 8 Laps: 1. 31 Kye Blight, 2. 91 Michael Holmes, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 52 Jay Cardy, 5. 199 Jeff Dickerson, 6. 39 Chris Barrow, 7. 04 Greg Horan, 8. 95 Abby Pickering (7). DNF: 94 Luke Halliday (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.869. Fastest Lap: 15.711 Kye Blight.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. 07 Kodee Brown, 2. V1 Peter Nicola, 3. 52 Jay Cardy, 4. 57 Mat Robbins, 5. 91 Michael Holmes, 6. 95 Abbey Pickering, 7. 199 Jeff Dickerson, 8. 74 Nathan Richards. DNF: USA14 Jeff Roth (3), 39 Chris Barrow (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.284. Fastest Lap: 16.313 V1 Peter Nicola.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. 31 Kye Blight, 2. T6 Brad Smith, 3. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 23 Joe Chalmers, 5. 15 Warren Oldfield, 6. 26 Ken Macpherson, 7. 11 Jason Oldfield, 8. 04 Greg Horan. DNS: 94 Luke Halliday. Total Time: 2.45.957. Winning Margin: 1.966. Fastest Lap: 15.705 Jamie Oldfield.
Feature, 30 Laps: 1. 31 Kye Blight, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. V1 Peter Nicola, 4. 23 Joe Chalmers, 5. 11 Jason Oldfield, 6. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 7. 52 Jay Cardy, 8. 91 Michael Holmes, 9. 95 Abby Pickering (29), 10. USA14 Jeff Roth (29), 11. 04 Greg Horan (29), 12. 39 Chris Barrow (28). DNF: 07 Kodee Brown (22), 26 Ken Macpherson (15), 74 Nathan Richards (15), T6 Brad Smith (7), 57 Mat Robbins (0). DNS: 94 Luke Halliday, 199 Jeff Dickerson. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.196. Fastest Lap: 15.773 Kye Blight.