Blight Wins Legends Night!

Kye Blight has again shown why he is regarded as one of the brightest young talents in Speedway today as he raced his way to the win in the Legends Night feature race in honour of Stan Starcevich at the Perth Motorplex.

Blight started off pole position for the feature courtesy of an earlier heat win and a second place. He was scheduled to start alongside former Australian Champion Kodee Brown but engine dramas would sideline him before the race began, seeing another former champion in Paul Stubber elevated to the front row.

As the race went green Blight would lea the field through the opening turns, but was quickly under pressure from Warren Oldfield and Jay Cardy.

Blight was able to survive that initial fight and began to pull away as Cardy and Oldfield continued to go at it tooth and nails, Oldfield then breaking away while just behind Cardy was Stubber and the returning Craig Vosbergen looking for a way through.

With four laps complete the first yellow light would come on as Laura Byrnes spun.

Vosbergen took the opportunity of a bunched up field on the restart, moving into third and beginning a battle with Oldfield, moving through and grabbing second on the sixth lap, while behind them Cardy was holding off Stubber and Clint Noakes.

Cardy and Stubber would then come together on lap eight which cost them some ground and allowed Ken Macpherson to get right into the thick of the action.

With ten complete it was Blight leading Vosbergen, Oldfield, Stubber, Cardy, Macpherson, Noakes, Jason Oldfield, Brad Blake and Daniel Ameduri.

Macpherson got by Cardy for fifth on lap twelve, and a lap later would see the most dramatic moment of the race when Blight found himself tangling with a lapped car that caused some damage.

Though some tense moments would be next, Blight was able to rejoin the field and on the restart he led away with Vosbergen chasing hard while Oldfield, Cardy and Stubber dropped back from the lead duo.

Stubber didn’t give up though and was able to pass both Cardy and Oldfield to claim third place with ten laps remaining. Oldfield fought back a few laps later and retook third with seven to go, but Stubber again went outside and retook third by just 0.040 seconds.

As the laps wound down Stubber and Oldfield would begin to close on Vosbergen, but they simply ran out of laps, and no one could do anything about Blight, who went on to claim his twelfth Motorplex feature win from Vosbergen and Stubber. Warren Oldfield and Cardy would round out the top five while Ken Macpherson, David Nylander (from position nineteen), Brad Blake, Jason Oldfield and Freddy Kinsella would fill out the top ten positions.

We now have a few weeks break from racing, allowing Late Models the chance to refresh and be ready to hit the track once again for the big one, the WA Title at the Perth Motorplex on the 13th of March!

The 2020/21 BGC Late Model Pro Dirt Series proudly brought to you by Global XLI, Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Bulk Metal Recyclers Pty Ltd., Bar 31, Carbusters, Finlease, Grays Online, Homes by Roth, Our Car Autos, Palice Property Group, QB Copper Recycling, Ross Construction and D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant.


Release by DTN Media.

Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.


Contingency Awards

Pancho’s Pole Position – Kye Blight

DTN Hard Charger – David Nylander

Boyes Equipment SVS Highest All Star Qualifier – Ken Macpherson

Global XLI All Star Award – Ken Macpherson

Bulk Metals Rookie Award – Laura Byrnes


Official Results

Heat 1, 8 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 91 Warren Oldfield, 3. 99 Brad Blake, 4. 23 Joe Chalmers, 5. 82 Matt Amato, 6. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 7. 10 Cody Avins, 8. 50 Veronica McCann, 9. 95 Jason Bond, 10. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 11. 44 Laura Byrnes (7). DNF: 47 Warren Minshull (4). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.142. Fastest Lap: 16.771 Kye Blight.

Heat 2, 8 laps: 1. 6 Clint Noakes, 2. 26 Ken Macpherson, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 54 David Nylander, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 31 Paul Stubber, 7. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 8. 15 Jason Oldfield, 9. 60 Jayden Meckenstock, 10. 90 David Boyes. Total Time: 2.19.105. Winning Margin: 1.618. Fastest Lap: 16.989 Clint Noakes.

Heat 3, 8 laps: 1. 31 Paul Stubber, 2. 07 Kodee Brown, 3. 52 Jay Cardy, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. 82 Matt Amato, 6. 23 Joe Chalmers, 7. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 8. 90 David Boyes, 9. 47 Warren Minshull, 10. 44 Laura Byrnes. DNF: 54 David Nylander (5). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.438. Fastest Lap: 16.753 Kodee Brown.

Heat 4, 8 laps: 1. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 2. A1 Kye Blight, 3. 91 Warren Oldfield, 4. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 5. 15 Jason Oldfield, 6. 26 Ken Macpherson, 7. 99 Brad Blake, 8. 6 Clint Noakes, 9. 10 Cody Avins, 10. 95 Jason Bond, 11. 60 Jayden Meckenstock. Total Time: 2.19.618. Winning Margin: 1.060. Fastest Lap: 17.070 Warren Oldfield.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 3. 31 Paul Stubber, 4. 91 Warren Oldfield, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 26 Ken Macpherson, 7. 54 David Nylander, 8. 99 Brad Blake, 9. 15 Jason Oldfield, 10. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 11. 6 Clint Noakes, 12. 23 Joe Chalmers (29), 13. 83 Daniel Ameduri (29), 14. 95 Jason Bond (29), 15. 10 Cody Avins (28), 16. 60 Jayden Meckenstock (27), 17. 44 Laura Byrnes (26). DNF: 50 Veronica McCann (13), 90 David Boyes (12), 47 Warren Minshull (11), 82 Matt Amato (3). DNS: 07 Kodee Brown. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 6.534. Fastest Lap: 17.262 Kye Blight.