Blight Leads After Night One!

Former Australian and WA champion Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) has had another strong start and leads the points after the first night of the 2022/23 WA Late Model Title, having absolutely dominated the night one feature race!
The night started with qualifying and although Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) set the mark early, Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing), in the third last pairing, would then better his mark before David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport), in the second last group, arrived on the scene and stole the top spot with a convincing 15.726 second lap.
Blight would bounce back in the opening heat to claim the win, while Vosbergen, Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Jamie Oldfield would claim the other three heat races, Blight doing enough to start on the front row of the twenty-lap night one feature race alongside pole sitter Matt Goodlad while David Nylander and Warren Oldfield would fill out row two.
Goodlad got the jump going low but Blight moved to the highline and went right outside Goodlad and into the lead, simply shooting away from the chasing pack.
Goodlad was left in second with Vosbergen chasing him hard, followed by David Nylander and Oldfield.
Brad Blake, who had shown plenty of speed throughout the night, became the first retiree with five laps complete, while Rod Musarra (@Teamrocket) retired a lap later and Jamie Oldfield joined them on the infield after a few more laps had been completed.
Back on track and Vosbergen caught Goodlad in traffic, grabbing second with nine laps complete, but by this time Blight was nearly five seconds ah
ead and Vosbergen had a huge task ahead of him.
Blight however was still going hard, fighting his way through lapped traffic and lapping sixth place with five laps still remaining.
By this point there was a big battle for third, fourth and fifth going on as Goodlad, David Nylander and Warren Oldfield fought it out.
Just as it looked like the race would go green to chequer, and as Blight was closing in on a new track record, the yellows came on with nineteen laps complete as Chris Barrow came to a stop on the front straight.
This stoppage would see the race become a twenty one lap race as it must finish on a green, white, chequer, so the field lined up once again, with cars on three different laps, only the top five cars still on the lead lap.
Despite this Blight would again simply race away, going on to cross the line nearly one and a half seconds ahead of second placed Vosbergen while Warren Oldfield raced into the final podium position in the dying stages ahead of Goodlad and David Nylander.
The action continues tomorrow as drivers contest one more round of heats prior to the all-important Championship final and with drivers also paying tribute to John Cardy, it is going to be a night you will not want to miss!
The 2022/23 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by McPhee Freight, Maddington Toyota & Canning Vale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Global Testing Services, APM Roofing and Gutters, The Event Mill and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Matt Goodlad
APM Roofing Hard Charger – David Boyes
All Star Winner – David Nylander
Official Results


Qualifying, 2 laps: 1. David Nylander 15.726, 2. Matt Goodlad 15.822, 3. Brent Vosbergen 16.075, 4. Brad Blake 16.310, 5. Kye Blight 16.344, 6. Warren Oldfield 16.403, 7. Rod Musarra 16.457, 8. Michael Holmes 16.491, 9. Damian Hudson 16.604, 10. Matt Nylander 16.668, 11. Freddy Kinsella 16.669, 12. Warren Minshull 16.784, 13. Jamie Oldfield 16.788, 14. Veronica McCann 16.832, 15. Jay Cardy 16.842, 16. Greg Horan 16.907, 17. Matt Amato 16.920, 18. David Boyes 16.784, 19. Chris Barrow 17.158, 20. Steve Schofield NTT.
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. David Nylander, 3. Brent Vosbergen, 4. Rod Musarra, 5. Jamie Oldfield, 6. Freddy Kinsella, 7. Matt Amato, 8. Damian Hudson, 9. Chris Barrow. DNF: Jay Cardy (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.034. Fastest Lap: 15.674 Kye Blight.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. Matt Goodlad, 2. Brad Blake, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Warren Oldfield, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. Warren Minshull, 7. David Boyes, 8. Matt Nylander, 9. Greg Horan. DNS: Steve Schofield. Total Time: 2.10.360. Winning Margin: 1.477. Fastest Lap: 15.944 Matt Goodlad.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Freddy Kinsella, 3. Matt Goodlad, 4. Brent Vosbergen, 5. Rod Musarra, 6. Veronica McCann, 7. Matt Nylander, 8. David Boyes, 9. Chris Barrow. DNS: Jay Cardy. Total Time: 2.13.474. Winning Margin: 1.582. Fastest Lap: 16.222 Brent Vosbergen.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. Jamie Oldfield, 2. Kye Blight, 3. Matt Amato, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. David Nylander, 6. Brad Blake, 7. Warren Minshull, 8. Damian Hudson, 9. Greg Horan. DNS: Steve Schofield. Total Time: 2.12.523. Winning Margin: 2.327. Fastest Lap: 15.993 Jamie Oldfield.
Feature, 21 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Matt Goodlad, 5. David Nylander, 6. Veronica McCann (20), 7. Michael Holmes (20), 8. Matt Amato (20), 9. Freddy Kinsella (20), 10. David Boyes (20), 11. Matt Nylander (20), 12. Damian Hudson (19), 13. Warren Minshull (19), 14. Greg Horan (19). DNF: Chris Barrow (17), Jamie Oldfield (12), Rod Musarra (6) Brad Blake (5). DNS: Jay Cardy, Steve Schofield. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.415. Fastest Lap: 15.572 Kye Blight.
Points After Night One
1. 31 Kye Blight 243
2. 18 Matt Goodlad 236
3. A1 Brent Vosbergen 232
4. 15 Warren Oldfield 232
5. 54 David Nylander 228
6. 91 Michael Holmes 217
7. 318 Freddy Kinsella 208
8. 50 Veronica McCann 205
9. 82 Matt Amato 200
10. 0 Brad Blake 197
11. 51 Jamie Oldfield 197
12. 21 Rod Musarra 194
13. 34 Matt Nylander 191
14. 47 Warren Minshull 189
15. 80 Damian Hudson 188
16. 90 David Boyes 185
17. 04 Greg Horan 173
18. 39 Chris Barrow 168
19. 60 Jay Cardy 101
20. 122 Steve Schofield 75