Blight is Back!

Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) is back on top with a vengeance, tonight claiming the tenth round of the Pro Dirt Series at the Perth Motorplex, proudly presented by ABN Trade Mates!
Although not claiming a heat win (those honours were shared by Rod Musarra (Team Rocket), Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) and Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing)), his two second placings would be enough to start himself from pole position in the final alongside Jamie Oldfield.
Blight was immediately able to break away as the race went under green flag conditions for the first time, while Oldfield quickly came under pressure from second row starter Rod Musarra.
Blight led the opening lap by half a second while through turns three and four Musarra grabbed second and would set out after Blight, Oldfield then coming under pressure from Australian Champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) who grabbed third with two laps complete.
Musarra hugged the pole line and was able to close the gap on Blight, but didn’t yet have enough to make a move, while Vosbergen was also trying to close the gap.
At this point Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) also beginning to apply pressure to Oldfield for fourth but again didn’t quite have enough to make the move.
With five laps complete Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) would become the first and only retiree of the race with a flat right rear tyre, but back on track Blight was beginning to approach a huge gaggle of lapped cars and was forced to move off
the bottom to get around them.
Musarra also moved high to do the same, but this allowed Vosbergen to drop underneath him and take second, the top three now fighting it out in a pack amongst seven lapped cars all over the track.
Blight was able to weave his way through and back into clear air, and a lap later Vosbergen did the same after being momentarily sandwiched between lapped cars.
Musarra took a little longer and by the time he got clear, Blight was one and a half seconds clear of Vosbergen, while Musarra was nearly four seconds behind.
Jamie Oldfield was still holding off Joe Chalmers at this point as they too fought through lapped traffic.
The yellows would come on at the halfway point after Nathan Richards and Nathan Callaghan came together in turn two, Richards sent to the rear for his role.
On the restart Blight again shot away while Musarra tried all he could to get by Vosbergen but was unsuccessful.
The big mover was Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), racing into fourth past Jamie Oldfield and Chalmers after initially starting from position sixteen, Chalmers also able to get by Jamie, as was Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) a lap later.
Jamie fought back and passed Macpherson back on the outside and then did the same to Chalmers to be fifth on lap nineteen, but unfortunately the lap was not complete when the yellows came on again for Richards who spun and was sent infield.
The restart was very similar to the previous one: Blight away and Musarra trying to get by Vosbergen, but again Jason Oldfield would charge forward, able to capitalise and pass Musarra for third.
Just two more laps were complete before a number of cars came together in turn one with Peter Seaton (Peter Seaton Racing) spinning and Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team), Peter Walker, Daniel Ameduri (Red dog racing) and Bruce Mackenzie all piling in.
Luckily all cars were able to restart, though this time we went single file, Blight again away as Vosbergen came under attack from Jason Oldfield, who grabbed second by 0.023 seconds with nine laps to go.
That lap would be complete before the yellows came on again as Jay Cardy and David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) made contact in turns one and two, setting up another single file restart with nine laps to go.
This time Vosbergen fought back and retook second from Oldfield, moving high on the track and locking onto the back of Blight as he began to look for a way through.
With five to go the order was now Blight, Chalmers, Jason Oldfield, Musarra and Jamie Oldfield and they would spread themselves out over the track.
With three to go Blight was back in lapped traffic but this time Vosbergen was with him, Blight low and Vosbergen high as they fought to the finish.
They were separated by just 0.3 seconds with one to go and with thick lapped traffic in front of them Vosbergen went high and pulled alongside Blight before bobbling ever so slightly and allowing Blight to get the nose in front again, Blight officially the winner from Vosbergen and Jason Oldfield, while Jamie Oldfield got by Rod Musarra for fourth in the dying stages.
It was an epic return to racing in WA, though there is now another slight break with the next round of the Pro Dirt Series set for the 9th of March back at the Perth Motorplex.
Release by DTN Media.
Pic Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Sitter – Kye Blight
Heatley’s Hard Charger – Jason Oldfield
Ross’s All Star Award – Luke Halliday
Supafit Supa 7th Place – Michael Holmes
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 21 Rod Musarra, 2. 31 Kye Blight, 3. 50 Veronica McCann, 4. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 5. 23 Joe Chalmers, 6. 39 Chris Barrow, 7. 15k Ken Macpherson, 8. 155 Daniel Ameduri, 9. 52 Jay Cardy, 10. 34 Matt Nylander. DNS: 93 Nathan Callaghan. Total Time: 2.18.529. Winning Margin: 0.914. Fastest Lap: 16.718 Kye Blight.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 11 Jason Oldfield, 2. 94 Luke Halliday, 3. 91 Michael Holmes, 4. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 5. 54 David Nylander, 6. 80 Damian Hudson, 7. 95 Abbey Pickering, 8. 04 Greg Horan, 9. N6 Bruce Mackenzie. DNF: 74 Nathan Richards (5), 6 Peter Walker (2), 65 Peter Seaton (2), 15 Warren Oldfield (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.386. Fastest Lap: 16.984 Jason Oldfield.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. 52 Jay Cardy, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 4. 34 Matt Nylander, 5. 155 Daniel Ameduri, 6. 21 Rod Musarra, 7. N6 Bruce Mackenzie, 8. 80 Damian Hudson, 9. 91 Michael Holmes, 10. 39 Chris Barrow, 11. 6 Peter Walker, 12. 04 Greg Horan. DNF: 11 Jason Oldfield (0). Total Time: 2.19.246. Winning Margin: 2.590. Fastest Lap: 17.021 Jay Cardy.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 2. 31 Kye Blight, 3. 54 David Nylander, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 15K Ken Macpherson, 6. 94 Luke Halliday, 7. 50 Veronica McCann, 8. 95 Abbey Pickering, 9. 74 Nathan Richards, 10. 65 Peter Seaton, 11. 93 Nathan Callaghan. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.212. Fastest Lap: 16.851 Jamie Oldfield.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. 31 Kye Blight, 2. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 11 Jason Oldfield, 4. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 5. 21 Rod Musarra, 6. 15k Ken Macpherson, 7. 91 Michael Holmes, 8. 94 Luke Halliday, 9. 23 Joe Chalmers, 10. 34 Matt Nylander, 11. 15 Warren Oldfield, 12. 95 Abbey Pickering, 13. 54 David Nylander, 14. 52 Jay Cardy, 15. 65 Peter Seaton (29), 16. 39 Chris Barrow (29), 17. 6 Peter Walker (29), 18. 155 Daniel Ameduri (29), 19. 80 Damian Hudson (29), 20. 93 Nathan Callaghan (29), 21. N6 Bruce Mackenzie (28), 22. 04 Greg Horan (28). DNF: 50 Veronica McCann (5). DQ: 74 Nathan Richards. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.610. Fastest Lap: 17.872 Kye Blight.