Blight is Back!

After a few weeks on the sidelines, ‘The Highlight’ Kye Blight has tonight not only returned to the track, but also the winners circle as he claimed the thirty lap John Day Classic feature race for Late Models at the Perth Motorplex, doubling as round seven of the Carbusters Pro Dirt Series.

Blight would qualify alongside Paul Stubber on the front row after they both recorded a win and a second place in their heats (as did Craig Vosbergen, Ken Macpherson and Freddy Kinsella), the five cars split only by lap times in the heats.

As the race went green it was Blight who grabbed the early lead but would bounce up high, giving Stubber the chance to duck underneath him and lead the first lap with Craig Vosbergen close by in third and Veronica McCann grabbing fourth place after starting in sixth, having claimed her own heat win earlier in the night.

Blight and Vosbergen raced side by side, switching positions on track a number of times, but up front Stubber was pulling away while behind them Macpherson had raced by McCann for fourth.

Vosbergen grabbed second on lap four and set out after Stubber who a lap later found himself in lapped traffic.
Warren Oldfield made his way by McCann for fifth a few laps later but up front Stubber was leading the rest of the field a merry dance, while Vosbergen and Blight continue their battle as the lapped traffic got thicker around them.

With ten to go Stubber held a near two second lead over Blight, with Vosbergen back in third chased by Macpherson. Stubber by that point was lapping the cars fighting for eleventh place and Blight used the opportunity to significantly close the gap and was just starting to make his moves when all of sudden Jay Cardy and Jason Oldfield came together in front of them, Cardy spinning, Oldfield retiring infield and Stubber also spinning but able to keep going, the melee enough to still bring out the yellows.

Stubber led away Blight and Vosbergen once again, and again Blight was not giving up, pressuring Stubber until he gave up the lead, Blight taking the opportunity to race away once out in front.

From here he was never headed and went on to take the win from Stubber, Vosbergen and Macpherson in a race that saw twenty one of the original twenty three starters make the distance, such was the quality of racing throughout the night.

After a busy start to the season, Late Models will now have some more time off as they prepare for their next meeting at the Perth Motorplex, the Boxing Day Bonanzas on December 26th which will be the perfect lead in to the big one, the Australian Late Model Championship on January 8th and 11th, 2020!

The 2019/20 Carbusters Metal Recycling Late Model Pro Dirt Series and USA Invasion Tour, proudly brought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, Global XLI, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Michael Holmes Racing, Homes by Roth, Bulk Metals, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Collie Machine Shop, D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant, Grays Online, Panelworx, Rockingham Towing, Baldivis Pharmacy, Mezzstor, West Coast Big Bike Hire, Our Car Autos, QB Copper Recycling, Finlease (Peter Williams), Plantman and Palice Property Group.

Release by DTN Media.

Pics Courtesy Aidan Skraha.

Contingency Awards
Pancho’s Pole Position – Paul Stubber
DTN Hard Charger – Jai Mazzini
Bulk Metals QuickTime – 16.676 Paul Stubber
RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories 10th Place – Brad Blake
Boyes Equipment SVS Highest All Star Qualifier – Ken Macpherson
Global XLI All Star Award – Ken Macpherson
Homes by Roth All Star Podium – Veronica McCann
Michael Holmes Racing Rookie Award – Aydan Trewern

Official Results

Heat 1, 8 laps: 1. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 2. 31 Paul Stubber, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. 10 Cody Avins, 7. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 8. 42 Ken Melvin. DNF: 3 Wayne Coleman (0). Total Time: 2.24.719. Winning Margin: 1.457. Fastest Lap: 17.648 Paul Stubber.

Heat 2, 8 laps: 1. 50 Veronica McCann, 2. 26 Ken Macpherson, 3. 48 Jason Oldfield, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 12 Aydan Trewern, 7. 54 David Nylander, 8. 69 Mark Nylander. Total Time: 2.24.109. Winning Margin: 3.702. Fastest Lap: 17.707 Ken Macpherson.

Heat 3, 8 laps: 1. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 2. 41 Kye Blight, 3. 51 Matt Amato, 4. 43 Marc Giancola, 5. NSW6 Wade Carter, 6. 14 Willy Powell, 7. 95 Jason Bond, 8. 90 David Boyes, 9. 29 Ben Ludlow. DNF: 38 Jai Mazzini. Total Time: 2.26.295. Winning Margin: 0.152. Fastest Lap: 17.444 Kye Blight.

Heat 4, 8 laps: 1. 31 Paul Stubber, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. 15 Warren Oldfield, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 50 Veronica McCann, 6. 0 Brad Blake, 7. 23 Joe Chalmers, 8. 48 Jason Oldfield, 9. 42 Ken Melvin. DNS: 69 Mark Nylander. Total Time: 2.18.221. Winning Margin: 2.409. Fastest Lap: 16.676 Paul Stubber.

Heat 5, 8 laps: 1. 26 Ken Macpherson, 2. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 3. NSW6 Wade Carter, 4. 51 Matt Amato, 5. 54 David Nylander, 6. 12 Aydan Trewern, 7. 90 David Boyes. DNF: 29 Ben Ludlow (7). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.145. Fastest Lap: 17.397 Ken Macpherson.

Heat 6, 8 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 3. 43 Marc Giancola, 4. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 5. 10 Cody Avins, 6. 38 Jai Mazzini, 7. 95 Jason Bond, 8. 14 Willy Powell. DNS: 3 Lincoln Coleman. Total Time: 2.21.933. Winning Margin: 5.017. Fastest Lap: 17.272 Kye Blight.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 31 Paul Stubber, 3. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 4. 26 Ken Macpherson, 5. 15 Warren Oldfield, 6. 50 Veronica McCann, 7. 91 Michael Holmes, 8. 43 Marc Giancola, 9. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 10. 0 Brad Blake, 11. 52 Jay Cardy, 12. 54 David Nylander (29), 13. 12 Aydan Trewern (29), 14. 23 Joe Chalmers (29), 15. 10 Cody Avins (29), 16. 90 David Boyes (29), 17. 38 Jai Mazzini (29), 18. 14 Willy Powell (29), 19. NSW6 Wade Carter (29), 20. 95 Jason Bond (29), 21. 42 Ken Melvin (27). DNF: 48 Jason Oldfield (22), 83 Daniel Ameduri (6). DNS: 3 Wayne Coleman, 29 Ben Ludlow, 51 Matt Amato, 69 Mark Nylander. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.999. Fastest Lap: 17.790 Paul Stubber.