Blight is a Three Time Nationals Champion!

Although it probably didn’t go down completely the way he would have liked, Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) last night walked away as a three-time Late Model Nationals champion after winning a shortened feature race at the Perth Motorplex!
With the points across the two nights tallied it was Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing) who would qualify himself from the front row for the scheduled thirty lap feature alongside Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR), while the second row was filled out by Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Kye Blight.
Unfortunately, due to various factors out of the Late Models control, the feature race would start later than scheduled and with time pressure to get the race completed, it took a number of attempts to even get the feature event underway.
Firstly, Nathan Richards would spin through the opening corners, then Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing_, who had a rough night on the Friday but was bouncing back, all of a sudden came to a stop, his race over before a lap had been completed.
Attempt three saw Steve Schofield (DEMON Racecar Fibreglass WA) and Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team) making contact to bring on the yellows once again, then the biggest, and thankfully final, opening lap incident saw a multi car pile-up, resulting in Mat Crimmins (Crimmins Racing) machine coming to a rest backwards on top of the Kodee Brown machine, both cars unable to rejoin along with Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) who also became involved with nowhere to go.
On the next go we finally were able to string some laps together, with Goodlad leading the opening lap before Kye Blight made his presence known, quickly racing into the lead, followed by Brent Vosbergen, Jamie Oldfield and Warren Oldfield as Goodlad dropped to fifth by lap four.
From here the field got into a rhythm, Blight working his way through lapped traffic and building up his gap on second placed Vosbergen, who in turn was breaking away from the Jamie and Warren Oldfield battle for third.
Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) got by Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) for sixth on lap seven, with multiple positional changes happening throughout the rest of the field as the race continued.
The time however was becoming a factor and officials made the call to drop the chequered flag as close to the curfew as they could.
Warren Oldfield got by Jamie Oldfield on lap fifteen for the final position on the podium and then two laps later officials could wait no longer and just before the clock ticked over to 11pm, the chequered flag was shown, with seventeen laps completed.
This left Blight officially the winner, crossing the line ahead of Brent Vosbergen and Warren Oldfield, with Jamie Oldfield and Matt Goodlad rounding out the top five.
There will now be a break for the Pro Dirt Series here in WA, giving competitors the chance to travel East for the Australian Title and with a big contingent expected to go over and represent WA< we wish them all the very best of luck!
The 2022/23 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by McPhee Freight, Maddington Toyota & Canning Vale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Global Testing Services, APM Roofing and Gutters, The Event Mill and Dirt Track Nutters.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Matt Goodlad
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Joe Chalmers
All Stars – Freddy Kinsella
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Cochrane Photography
Official Results
Heat Seven, 8 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Matt Goodlad, 3. Joe Chalmers, 4. Freddy Kinsella, 5. David Boyes, 6. Warren Oldfield, 7. Steve Schofield, 8. Domain Ramsay, 9. Jay Cardy, 10. Greg Horan. DNF: Nathan Richards (6), Damian Hudson (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.378. Fastest Lap: 17.100 Matt Goodlad.
Heat Eight, 8 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Jamie Oldfield, 3. Kodee Brown, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Jason Oldfield, 6. Brad Smith, 7. Matt Amato, 8. Veronica McCann, 9. Ben Strautins, 10. Mat Crimmins, 11. Chris Barrow, 12. Bruce Mackenzie. Total Time: 2.16.396. Winning Margin: 2.123. Fastest Lap: 16.606 Kye Blight.
Feature, 17 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Jamie Oldfield, 5. Matt Goodlad, 6. Michael Holmes, 7. Freddy Kinsella, 8. Jay Cardy, 9. Brad Smith, 10. Joe Chalmers, 11. Matt Amato, 12. David Boyes (16), 13. Steve Schofield (16), 14. Damian Hudson (16), 15. Veronica McCann (16), 16. Ben Strautins (16), 17. Bruce Mackenzie (16), 18. Domain Ramsay (16). DNF: Nathan Richards (12), Kodee Brown (0), Mat Crimmins (0), Greg Horan (0), Jason Oldfield (0), Chris Barrow (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: Declared. Fastest Lap: 18.038 Kye Blight.