Blight Goes Back to Back!

Kye Blight has tonight made it two feature wins in a row and got himself into the best possible form ahead of the Australian Championship as he defeated a full field of cars to claim his sixth Perth Motorplex feature win, fifth in a Late Model.

Blight was solid in his heats, claiming a win and a fourth place to start the feature from position five while Ryan Halliday, who scored a win and a second place would come from pole position. He was joined on the front row by Ken Macpherson (a win and a third place in the heats) while the second row was filled by Warren Oldfield and Jay Cardy.

Twenty four cars would start the feature but up the front the battle was between Halliday, Cardy and Macpherson, Halliday leading the group.
The first yellow light of the race came after just two laps, Simon McNab coming to a stop in turn four.

On the restart Cardy grabbed the lead, with Macpherson also racing his way through into second as Halliday dropped to third.
Kye Blight was on Halliday’s tail and soon ducked underneath him to grab third on lap five.

Behind the top four was a five car battle for fifth, but just as it was getting interesting Halliday found himself spinning to a stop in turn four with six laps completed, the battling pack lucky to avoid him.

The race resumed again and this time Blight and Cardy pulled away as they fought for the lead, Cardy with the edge on Blight, while Joe Godsey made his way into fourth and began pressuring Macpherson for third.

Freddy Kinsella too was making moves, grabbing fifth from Warren Oldfield. The yellows then came on again, this time for Lee Redmond who spun in turn four.

Again Cardy and Blight fought for the lead as the race resumed, this time Blight getting the nose in front to lead lap eleven by just 0.018 seconds. Godsey also took his opportunity and grabbed third from Macpherson.

Macpherson fought back and retook the position on lap thirteen, but behind them was another pack of cars including Kinsella, Brad Blake, Michael Holmes and Warren Oldfield looking for a way through also.

Lapped traffic would come into play on lap nineteen, Blight using the highline to negotiate his way around as Cardy dropped back slightly, but still stayed in range and was ready to pounce at any given opportunity.

Over the next few laps the field began to spread out a little, but with twenty six laps complete Michael Holmes spun in turn four and despite his best attempts to keep the model going, the yellows had to come on.

This set up a four lap restart, with Blight leading away Cardy, Macpherson and Godsey.

Warren Oldfield was the one who made the most of his opportunities, using the highline to rocket into the top five. Back up front though it was all Blight, going on to defeat Cardy while Joe Godsey made a last lap pass to grab third from Macpherson. Impressively, twenty one of the original twenty four cars who started the feature, finished the race.

Warren Oldfield has now taken the lead in the Perth Motorplex Track Championship, nineteen points ahead of Cardy while Giancola is a further two points behind and Holmes another four markers back in fourth.

Looking at the Carbusters Pro Dirt Series, it is now a tie for the lead, with both Warren Oldfield and Michael Holmes on 814 point. Marc Giancola is 33 points further back in third while Jay Cardy and Freddy Kinsella round out the top five.

The Late Models now have the next thirteen days to prepare for the big one, the Australian Late Model Championship, which kicks off at the Perth Motorplex on Wednesday the 8th of January, with the event set to wrap up with the final on Saturday the 11th of January.

Stay tuned over the next few weeks as we release all the details including the field, the format and the festivities that will surely make this one of the best Australian Late Model Championships ever held!

The 2019/20 Carbusters Metal Recycling Late Model Pro Dirt Series and USA Invasion Tour, proudly brought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, Global XLI, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Michael Holmes Racing, Homes by Roth, Bulk Metals, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Collie Machine Shop, D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant, Grays Online, Panelworx, Rockingham Towing, Baldivis Pharmacy, Mezzstor, West Coast Big Bike Hire, Our Car Autos, QB Copper Recycling, Finlease (Peter Williams), Plantman and Palice Property Group.

Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Aidan Skraha.

Contingency Awards
Pancho’s Pole Position – Ryan Halliday
DTN Hard Charger – Jamie Oldfield
Bulk Metals QuickTime – 16.745 Kye Blight
RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories 10th Place – Jamie Oldfield
Boyes Equipment SVS Highest All Star Qualifier – Ken Macpherson
Global XLI All Star Award – Joe Godsey
Homes by Roth All Star Podium – Ken Macpherson
Michael Holmes Racing Rookie Award – Aydan Trewern

Official Results
Heat 1, 8 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 99 Ryan Halliday, 3. 50 Veronica McCann, 4. USA14R Jeff Roth, 5. 91 Michael Holmes, 6. 38 Jai Mazzini, 7. 60 Jayden Meckenstock 8. 19 Simon McNab, 9. 13 Wayne Coleman (7). DNF: 31 Paul Stubber (2). Total Time: 2.17.560. Winning Margin: 4.650. Fastest Lap: 16.745 Kye Blight.

Heat 2, 8 laps: 1. 26 Ken Macpherson, 2. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 3. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 4. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. 43 Marc Giancola, 7. 07 Kodee Brown, 8. 14 Willy Powell, 9. 69 Mark Nylander, 10. 93 Rob Galloway. Total Time: 2.22.153. Winning Margin: 4.410. Fastest Lap: 17.417 Ken Macpherson.

Heat 3, 8 laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. USA14G Joe Godsey, 4. 54 David Nylander, 5. 12 Aydan Trewern, 6. 23 Joe Chalmers, 7. 10 Cody Avins, 8. 5 Lee Redmond, 9. 95 Jason Bond, 10. 29 Ben Ludlow. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.155. Fastest Lap: 17.670 Joe Godsey.
Heat 4, 8 laps: 1. 07 Kodee Brown, 2. 0 Brad Blake, 3. 26 Ken Macpherson, 4. 41 Kye Blight, 5. 91 Michael Holmes, 6. USA14R Jeff Roth, 7. 19 Simon McNab, 8. 14 Willy Powell, 9. 69 Mark Nylander DNS: 31 Paul Stubber. Total Time: 2.19.858. Winning Margin: 2.056. Fastest Lap: 17.183 Ken Macpherson.

Heat 5, 8 laps: 1. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 43 Marc Giancola, 5. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 6. 5 Lee Redmond, 7. 54 David Nylander, 8. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 9. 93 Rob Galloway. DNF: 95 Jason Bond (7). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.086. Fastest Lap: 17.522 Freddy Kinsella.

Heat 6, 8 laps: 1. 99 Ryan Halliday, 2. USA14G Joe Godsey, 3. 15 Warren Oldfield, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. 12 Aydan Trewern, 6. 29 Ben Ludlow, 7. 10 Cody Avins, 8. 60 Jayden Meckenstock, 9. 38 Jai Mazzini, 10. 13 Wayne Coleman. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.494. Fastest Lap: 17.470 Warren Oldfield.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. USA14G Joe Godsey, 4. 26 Ken Macpherson, 5. 15 Warren Oldfield, 6. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 7. 50 Veronica McCann, 8. 0 Brad Blake, 9. USA14R Jeff Roth, 10. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 11. 23 Joe Chalmers, 12. 43 Marc Giancola, 13. 12 Aydan Trewern, 14. 07 Kodee Brown, 15. 91 Michael Holmes, 16. 54 David Nylander (29), 17. 10 Cody Avins (29), 18. 83 Daniel Ameduri (29), 19. 38 Jai Mazzini (29), 20. 5 Lee Redmond (29), 21. 29 Ben Ludlow (29). DNF: 19 Simon McNab (19), 60 Jayden Meckenstock (14), 99 Ryan Halliday (7). DNS: 13 Wayne Coleman, 14 Willy Powell, 31 Paul Stubber, 69 Mark Nylander, 93 Nathan Callaghan, 95 Jason Bond. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.030. Fastest Lap: 17.797 Kye Blight.