Blight Goes Back-to-Back!

Tonight at the Perth Motorplex Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) became the first driver this season to win two feature races in a row, having a near perfect night and then being near on untouchable in the main event to claim the overall win.
Blight would start from pole position in the feature courtesy of a heat win and a second, with Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) alongside him having garnered the same results.
Vosbergen swept through for the lead ahead of Blight on the initial start, with Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) using the bottom to also join the battle for the lead, but alas it would not last as the yellows came on without a lap complete for a tangle involving Laura Byrnes (Red Shamrock Racing) and Nathan Richards, ending both of their races early.
The next attempt saw Blight grab the lead, with Vosbergen and Chalmers going high and low respectively behind him.
The top three broke away quickly, while fourth placed David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) was leading the rest of a snarling pack, albeit only temporarily until Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) took over fourth.
Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) was next, moving into fifth and setting out after Cardy.
Brother Jamie was doing much the same and would grab sixth from Nylander on lap eight, just as Chalmers slowed suddenly and headed infield.
Blight was away on the restart with Vosbergen under pressure from Cardy, while Warren and Jamie were right behind him.
Warren moved high and found some extra speed, moving up alongside Cardy but unable to make the move stick. Vosbergen and Cardy persisted with the lowline while Warren stayed high and slowly but surely Warren moved forward, grabbing third on lap twelve.
Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) was also now in sixth and on lap thirteen passed Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) for fifth.
Blight meanwhile was nearly five seconds ahead at the halfway point, while Holmes was next to make a move, this time grabbing fourth from Cardy on lap nineteen.
On lap twenty-three Brent made a mistake, seeing him go high through turn two and Warren capitalized, ducking low to grab second place.
From here the field would spread out with no more positional changes, Blight going on to win his seventeenth Late Model feature win at the Perth Motorplex venue.
He would officially defeat Warren Oldfield and Brent Vosbergen.
There are now just a few days left before the next round, with the Pro Dirt Series back in action at the Bunbury Speedway on New Year’s Day in what will also be the first round of the Late Model Showdown and the Allan Blake Late Model Classic!
From all of our teams, crews and officials, the LMRWA wishes everyone a Happy and Safe New Year!
Release by DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Kye Blight
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Ken Macpherson
All Star Winner – Veronica McCann
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers, 2. 41 Kye Blight, 3. 0 Brad Blake, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 26 Ken Macpherson, 6. 52 Jay Cardy, 7. 91 Michael Holmes, 8. 50 Veronica McCann, 9. 39 Chris Barrow, 10. 04 Greg Horan. DNF: 14 Willy Powell (1). Total Time: 2.17.050. Winning Margin: 0.584. Fastest Lap: 16.662 Kye Blight.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 54 David Nylander, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 11 Jason Oldfield, 4. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 5. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 6. 21 Rod Musarra, 7. 80 Damian Hudson, 8. 44 Laura Byrnes. DNF: 74 Nathan Richards (4). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.681. Fastest Lap: 16.710 David Nylander.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 5. 50 Veronica McCann, 6. 21 Rod Musarra, 7. 15 Warren Oldfield, 8. 11 Jason Oldfield, 9. 39 Chris Barrow. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.656. Fastest Lap: 16.265 Kye Blight.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 91 Michael Holmes, 3. 52 Jay Cardy, 4. 54 David Nylander, 5. 80 Damian Hudson, 6. 74 Nathan Richards, 7. 14 Willy Powell, 8. 44 Laura Byrnes, 9. 04 Greg Horan. DNF: 0 Brad Blake (5), 26 Ken Macpherson (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.126. Fastest Lap: 17.505 Brent Vosbergen.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 7. 50 Veronica McCann, 8. 26 Ken Macpherson, 9. 54 David Nylander, 10. 11 Jason Oldfield (29), 11. 0 Brad Blake (29), 12. 33 Freddy Kinsella (29), 13. 21 Rod Musarra (29). DNF: 04 Greg Horan (23), 39 Chris Barrow (😎, 14 Willy Powell (😎, 23 Joe Chalmers (7), 80 Damian Hudson (4), 44 Laura Byrnes (0), 74 Nathan Richards (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 7.953. Fastest Lap: 17.678 Kye Blight.