Blight Dominates!

Last night saw the WA Late Model brigade contesting the fifth round of the Pro Dirt Series at the Perth Motorplex proudly presented by Maddington Toyota and CanningVale Toyota, but it was Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) who absolutely dominated proceedings, winning both of his heats, starting on pole position for the feature and going on to take the win.
Blight was so dominant throughout the night that out of a possible forty-six laps (two eight lap heats and a thirty-lap feature), he led forty-four of them!
Joining Blight in victory lane for the heats was Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing), but it was David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport), courtesy of a second and a third in his heats, that would start alongside him for the feature race.
Blight would get the jump on the start, with Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) moving straight into second from his third place starting position. Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) (from fifth position) then launched into third and Chalmers was fourth by the completion of lap one.
Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) moved into fifth on lap three and the race began to settle into a rhythm, with Blight making his way into lapped traffic on lap eight.
Blight was well ahead with ten complete, holding a lead of 3.454 seconds, while Macpherson was being pressured by Jason Oldfield lap after lap for second and Chalmers was also beginning to close.
Lapped traffic helped Macpherson and Chalmers but hindered Oldfield, with Macpherson getting away and Chalmers right on Oldfields tail, before they settled right back into the same rhythm, Oldfield again closing the gap on Macpherson and hounding him through every turn.
Halfway home the gap was now out to 4.267 seconds from first to second, while further back David Nylander got by Cardy for fifth, but Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) then got them both on lap nineteen and set out after Chalmers.
With twenty laps complete and the race looking like it was going to go green to chequer, the yellows came on for Warren Minshull who spun in turn two. Minshull was unable to rejoin the race, but the restart bunched the field up once again and would set the scene for a pile of positional changes in the final ten laps.
Cardy got by Nylander for sixth on the restart, then after another yellow light on lap twenty-three for rookie Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports), Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) was able to pass Cardy for seventh. Unfortunately the yellows came on once again with a turn two pileup involving David Nylander, McCann, Michael Holmes and Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team), luckily all able to restart.
Cardy got back to sixth on restart, then the battle really began to heat up for that position between Cardy, McCann, Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing).
Unfortunately for Joe Chalmers he was forced infield with three to go while running fourth, seeing Blight leading Macpherson, Jason Oldfield, Brent Vosbergen and McCann in the run to the finish.
From here the order remained nearly unchanged, with Warren Oldfield making a last lap past for sixth, followed by Cardy, seeing Goodlad back to eighth, while Brad Blake got by Brown on the last lap to finish ninth.
Looking at the lap chart for the race, there are squiggles everywhere, which indicates a constant change of positions throughout the race and while near on impossible to count, there was over seventy official positional changes throughout the field across the race, which doesn’t include passes that happened back and forth over laps prior to crossing the line: a real credit not just to the racers but also the Perth Motorplex track crew.
After a busy few weeks, the Pro Dirt Series now takes a short break, with Round Six scheduled for Boxing Day at the Perth Motorplex, the 26th of December.
From all of our teams, crews and officials, the LMRWA wishes everyone a Happy and Safe festive season.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Richard Hathaway Photography, Flash Fotos & Graphix and Peter Roebuck.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Kye Blight
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Brent Vosbergen
All Star Winner – Ken Macpherson
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Kodee Brown, 3. Jason Oldfield, 4. Brent Vosbergen, 5. Warren Oldfield, 6. Warren Minshull, 7. Michael Holmes, 8. Brad Blake, 9. Rod Musarra, 10. Matt Nylander. DNS: Luke Halliday. Total Time: 2.19.853. Winning Margin: 1.769. Fastest Lap: 17.191 Kye Blight.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. Joe Chalmers, 2. David Nylander, 3. Veronica McCann, 4. Ken Macpherson, 5. Matt Goodlad, 6. Jay Cardy, 7. Damian Hudson, 8. Chris Barrow, 9. Nathan Richards. Total Time: 2.21.447. Winning Margin: 2.056. Fastest Lap: 17.151 Joe Chalmers.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Jay Cardy, 3. David Nylander, 4. Matt Nylander, 5. Kodee Brown, 6. Matt Goodlad, 7. Rod Musarra, 8. Damian Hudson, 9. Nathan Richards. DNF: Luke Halliday (7), Chris Barrow (6). Total Time: 2.16.877. Winning Margin: 2.700. Fastest Lap: 16.721 Kye Blight.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. Michael Holmes, 2. Ken Macpherson, 3. Brad Blake, 4. Jason Oldfield, 5. Veronice McCann, 6. Joe Chalmers, 7. Warren Oldfield, 8. Brent Vosbergen, 9. Warren Minshull. Total Time: 2.21.398. Winning Margin: 0.725. Fastest Lap: 17.422 Michael Holmes.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Ken Macpherson, 3. Jason Oldfield, 4. Brent Vosbergen, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. Warren Oldfield, 7. Jay Cardy, 8. Matt Goodlad, 9. Brad Blake, 20. Kodee Brown, 11. David Nylander, 12. Rod Musarra, 13. Damian Hudson (29), 14. Nathan Richards (29), 15. Chris Barrow (29). DNF: Joe Chalmers (27), Michael Holmes (24), Warren Minshull (19), Matt Nylander (13). DNS: Luke Halliday. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.797. Fastest Lap: 17.391 Kye Blight.