Blast From the Past: 2014 Moyle Engines USA Invasion Tour

Steve Francis started where he left off in 2013 by taking out the opening round of the 2014 Moyle Engines USA Invasion Tour at Quit Collie Speedway on Friday January 3.

In what many described as a dominating display, Francis led the thirty lap main event from start to finish aboard his Ozmine Racing USA16 BWRC, only being brought back to the field courtesy of a few stoppages throughout the main event.186-payne

American Steve Casebolt who was visiting Western Australian for the first time struggled throughout the night with car issues and started the A main from near the rear of the field.

Francis again got the initial jump at the start of the main event with a huge multi car accident occurring mid pack with cars going in every direction.

Phil Zuidema ended up on top of Warren Oldfield’s car on the main straight with many other cars caught up in the incident. Both Zuidema and Oldfield would restart with Nat Muir and Canberra’s Scott McPherson unable to restart with too much damage.

Francis would yet again get the jump on the field and lead the early laps from Giancola, Blake with American Jeremy Payne moving from sixth into fourth place. American Steve Casebolt retired after five laps with the race settling into a steady pace.

Jay Cardy and Phil Zuidema would come together mid race with Zuidema spinning across the track and being collected by Brad Boley in the process.

Francis would go on to win the opening night of the 2014 Moyle Engines USA Invasion Tour from his fellow countrymen Jeremy Payne, Brad Blake, Lee Watt and Koran Atkinson rounding out the top five.

Round One Quit Collie Speedway A-Main – 30 Laps: 1. USA16 Steve Francis, 2. USA186 Jeremy Payne, 3. 0 Brad Blake, 4. 10 Lee Watt, 5. 63 Koran Atkinson, 6. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 7. 55 Jason Oldfield, 8. 91 Michael Holmes, 9. 39 Phil Zuidema, 10. 52 Jay Cardy, 11. 22 Paul Joss, 12. 71 Jamie Moon, DNF 9 Brad Ludlow, 6 Jason Moyle, 12 Nat Muir, 43 Marc Giancola, 15 Warren Oldfield, 50 Brad Boley, USA33 Steve Casebolt. 89 Morgan Melvin, 88 Alec Melvin, 45 Chris Ferguson, NSW7 Scott McPherson, 18 Matt Goodlad

Steve Francis has continued his dominance of the 2014 Moyle Engines USA Invasion Tour with a resounding victory in the second round at Manjimup Speedway on Saturday January 4.2014-francis

Eighteen cars would start the main event on a perfectly manicured racing surface with Francis leading the early laps with Casebolt in hot pursuit. Jeremy Payne would be shuffled back a few positions as the race settling into a pattern.

Very quickly Francis would be lapping cars with ease as he flew around the fast wide open Manjimup Speedway. Casebolt would begin to lose ground to the leader & fall into the clutches of Brad Blake with Craig Vosbergen working his way into fourth place.

Casebolt would lose second place to Blake as Jason & Warren Oldfield tussled with Jeremy Payne for the minor placing’s.

Francis would survive the green white chequer to win the second round of the Invasion tour from Blake, Vosbergen, Jason Oldfield & Warren Oldfield rounding the out the top five.

Round 2 Manjimup Speedway A -Main – 30 Laps: 1. USA16 Steve Francis, 2. 0 Brad Blake, 3. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 4. 55 Jason Oldfield, 5. 15 Warren Oldfield, 6. USA186 Jeremy Payne, 7. 18 Matt Goodlad, 8. 39 Phil Zuidema, 9. 10 Lee Watt, 10. 91 Michael Holmes, 11. 63 Koran Atkinson, 12. 52 Jay Cardy, 13. N7 Scott McPherson, 14. 71 Jamie Moon, DNF: USA33 Steve Casebolt, DNF. 92 Brad Ludlow, 17. DNF 50 Brad Boley, 6 DNS: 6 Jason Moyle, 43 Marc Giancola

Francis has clean swept the 2014 Moyle Engines Late Model USA Invasion Tour with another dominating performance in the final round at Ellenbrook Speedway on the 11th January 2014

Francis led the thirty lap main event from start to finish and showed the Western Australian public why he is considered one of the world’s best Dirt Late Model drivers.

Twenty Four Late Models were on hand for the third and final round of the Moyle Engines USA Invasion Tour with the race meeting ran in scorching hot temperatures.

Americans Steve Francis and Steve Casebolt would share the front row with Casebolt getting the initial jump. Casebolt lead for the first two corners before running wide and handing Francis the lead.casebolt

The race settled into a pace with Francis pulling away from Casebolt, Jason Oldfield, Craig Vosbergen, Brad Blake and Jeremy Payne.

Jeremy Payne and Brad Blake would make contact coming into the main straight with Blake falling through the field.

A late restart would be called for debris on the racetrack and Payne would be put back two positions at the restart for his part in the incident with Blake.

Francis would go on to win the final round of the Invasion Tour comfortably over his countrymen Steve Casebolt. Craig Vosbergen would be the first Western Australian driver to cross the line holding off the fast finishing Jeremy Payne who rebounded to finish in fourth place.

Round 3 Ellenbrook Speedway A-Main – 30 Laps: 1. USA16 Steve Francis, 2. USA33 Steve Casebolt, 3. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 4. USA186 Jeremy Payne, 5. 55 Jason Oldfield, 6. 0 Brad Blake, 7. 18 Matt Goodlad, 8. 12 Nat Muir, 9. 91 Michael Holmes, 10. 52 Jay Cardy, 11. 22 Paul Joss, 12. 93 Rob Galloway, DNF 69 Bryn Haythornwaite, NSW7 Scott McPherson, 43 Marc Giancola, 5 Ken McPherson, 63 Jamie Oldfield, 71 Jamie Moon

2014 Moyle Engines USA Invasion Tour Points

  1. USA16 Steve Francis 358
  2. 0 Brad Blake 318
  3. USA186 Jeremy Payne314
  4. 8 Craig Vosbergen 312
  5. 55 Jason Oldfield 296
  6. 91 Michael Holmes 278
  7. 15 Warren Oldfield 274
  8. 52 Jay Cardy 259
  9. 10 Lee Watt 256
  10. 18 Matt Goodlad 255
  11. USA33 Steve Casebolt 253
  12. 39 Phil Zudiema 225
  13. 71 Jamie Moon 223
  14. 92 Brad Ludlow 213
  15. 43 Marc Giancola 212
  16. NSW7 Scott Macpherson 201
  17. 6 Jason Moyle 200
  18. 63 Koran Atkinson 190
  19. 22 Paul Joss 162
  20. 2 Nat Muir 159
  21. 50 Brad Boley 133
  22. 93 Rob Galloway 80
  23. 88 Alec Melvin 75
  24. 69 Bryn Haythornwaite 72
  25. 63O Jamie Oldfield 71
  26. 26 Ken Mcpherson 69
  27. 44 Lance Ferguson 69
  28. 89 Morgan Melvin 55
  29. 9 Ben Ludlow 50

Photos thanks to Peter Roebuck.

Leave a Comment