Blake Turnin’ Back the Clock

  1. In what was an event honoring a long standing veteran and downright legend of our sport, ‘The General’ John Day, it was only fitting that another veteran of the sport would turn back the clock and claim the event in his name.

‘The O Show’ Brad Blake was in scintillating form as he raced his way through the field from position seven to fight with early race leader Ryan Halliday in the twenty lap feature, before going on to win what would be his thirty fourth feature race at the Perth Motorplex, placing him second in the all-time feature winner list for the venue.

As the race went green for the twenty two starters, it would be former National Champion and pole sitter Ryan Halliday who took the lead, another long time competitor again turning back the clock. By lap two Halliday was over 1.7 seconds ahead as behind him was Kye Blight while Jay Cardy and Blake would fight for third.

With the other cars battling it out, Halliday was able to pull away again, the gap 2.5 seconds a lap later, then over three seconds on the next circulation. With the gap blowing out to nearly four seconds, Warren Oldfield would join Blake and Cardy in the battle for third, before the entire battling trio managed to pass Blight at the same time as Halliday moved into traffic on lap six.

A lap later Marc Giancola’s horror night continued as he headed infield for the second time on the night, closely tailed by David Nylander who was pulling off at the same time with power steering issues. Unfortunately Hayden Norman found himself sandwiched between the ailing duo and was slowed, but somehow managed to avoid crashing and continued on.

As all this was going on, Blake had cleared his way into second and had set about chasing down Halliday, narrowing the gap to 0.2 seconds on lap nine when the yellows came out for a stranded Simon McNab who was facing the wrong way on the back straight.

Paul Stubber then chose the next restart to make his presence felt as he moved past Warren Oldfield into fourth. Halliday and Blake would pull away, with Cardy not far behind in third place as Oldfield moved back past Stubber, then caught and passed Cardy for third on lap thirteen. Stubber would move under Cardy a lap later for fourth as the leaders approached lapped traffic once again.

On lap fifteen Blake would make the deciding move as he moved outside Halliday, drawing alongside him before powering on by to take the lead in decisive fashion. Just three short laps later though the yellows would come out again, after Chris Pavlovich found himself stranded as the innocent party after being unable to avoid an incident ahead of him.

With the time pressure increasing, the race was declared two laps short of the twenty lap destination, with Blake officially the winner ahead of Halliday and Warren Oldfield.

Courtesy of tonight’s results, Blake has moved into the outright lead in the Perth Motorplex Track Championship, some eighteen points clear after three podium finishes in the three rounds held so far (in fact all top two’s!)

Earlier in the night twenty five cars would start the night, with heat wins shared by Cardy, Stubber, Blake and Holmes.

The Late Models will now have a short break for the festive season, before returning to action once again at the Perth Motorplex on the 27th of December. On behalf of all of us here at LMRWA we wish you and your families a very happy and safe Christmas.

Release by DTN.

Leave a Comment