Blake Hits Forty!

It has certainly been a record breaking season and tonight at the Perth Motorplex, WA Champion Brad Blake added to that, grabbing his fortieth feature race win at the venue in the CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd sponsored Gold Cup!
In grabbing the win, Blake extended his all-time lead at the Perth Motorplex and becomes the first driver to ever enter into the forty wins category!
Blake was again strong all night, qualifying from pole position after a heat win and a third, starting alongside Australian Champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) (who grabbed a second and a third).
As the twenty-lap feature event began, Blake would jump immediately into the lead while third place starter Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) was quick to race into second. Vosbergen was right behind them while Rod Musarra (@Teamrocket) also continued his good night after an earlier heat race win to move into fourth and then pass Vosbergen for third.
Lap four saw Musarra, using the highline, sweep around Oldfield and grab second place.
Shortly after, lapped traffic saw Musarra go even higher, sending a shower of sparks from the back end of the car as he touched the wall, which opened the door and gave Oldfield the opportunity he was looking for, seeing him back through for second.
Blake hit lapped traffic at the halfway point of the race but he simply drove around them while behind him, Oldfield was closing, while further back, Vosbergen was also closing on Musarra.
After a DNF in her opening heat race saw her starting from position eleven, Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) was also working her way forward as the laps wound down, from eleventh, passing Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) for sixth, then advancing into the top five as Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) retired infield.
With five laps to go Oldfield was right on Blake’s tail, a positing he would hold lap after lap as he slowly closed the gap and with one to go he was looking for a way through.
The last lap was exciting, both drivers moving around the track and Oldfield looking for any possible gap to get through, but the veteran Blake would again hold strong, crossing the line in convincing fashion to take the win.
Warren would come home second while Brent Vosbergen would hold third. Rod Musarra and Veronica McCann rounded out the top five finishers.
The Late Models now head down to Albany Speedway Club next weekend, where a good field is set to contest the two night Easter Classic event!
The 2022/23 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by #McPheeFreight, Maddington Toyota & Canning Vale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Global Testing Services, APM Roofing and Gutters, The Event Mill and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Brad Blake
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Veronica McCann
All Star Winner – Rod Musarra
Official Results
Heat One, 7 laps: 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. David Boyes, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Rod Musarra, 6. Damian Hudson, 7. Jay Cardy. DNF: Darren Ahearn (6), Veronica McCann (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.324. Fastest Lap: 16.723 Warren Oldfield
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. Brad Blake, 2. Joe Chalmers, 3. Brent Vosbergen, 4. David Boyes, 5. Warren Oldfield, 6. Greg Horan, 7. Damian Hudson, 8. Jay Cardy. Total Time: 2.12.316. Winning Margin: 4.720. Fastest Lap: 16.183 Brad Blake.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. Rod Musarra, 2. Veronica McCann, 3. Brad Blake, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Joe Chalmers, 6. Greg Horan. DNF: Darren Ahearn. Total Time: 2.15.584. Winning Margin: 2.603. Fastest Lap: 16.705 Joe Chalmers.
Feature, 20 laps: 1. Brad Blake, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Brent Vosbergen, 4. Rod Musarra, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. David Boyes, 7. Joe Chalmers, 8. Jay Cardy, 9. Greg Horan (19). DNF: Darren Ahearn (13), Michael Holmes (14), Damian Hudson (6). Total Time: 5.47.343. Winning Margin: 0.630. Fastest Lap: 16.379 Brad Blake.