Big Field for Bunbury!

What better way is there to welcome in the New Year than by watching the thunder and lightning Late Models tearing up the Bunbury bullring?
This Monday night will see exactly that with the New Year’s Day show at Bunbury Speedway featuring the opening round of the 2024
Wild West Showdown, the first of five nights of racing, whilst also doubling as the seventh round of the 2023/24 Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by Heatleys Safety & Industrial.
The last time Late Models had a Pro Dirt round at Bunbury was exactly a year ago, racing on the 1st of January, 2023 where Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) claimed the win.
Prior to that there had been a gap between races, the last being November 2019 where Marc Giancola claimed the third of his three Pro Dirt wins at the venue.
Brad Blake is the winningest driver from those twenty-six previous Pro Dirt Series races at the venue, having claimed the feature event on thirteen occasions, followed by Giancola on three and Craig Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) and Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) tied on two, while Jamie Oldfield, Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing), Warren Oldfield, Mick Hamon, current LMRWA Media Manager Craig Nylander and American Jeremy Payne each have one win apiece.
Not all Invasion Tour shows have been Pro Dirt rounds, with American names like Billy Moyer (2019), Jeremy Payne (2012) and Steve Francis (2013, 2015) claiming feature wins at the venue while others including Ron Miller and Jeep van Wormer have also finished on the podium.
This time around, a crack field of twenty-six drivers are looking to start their new year off with a bang.
For the first time since 2020, American Jeff Roth will be back on WA shores, his car recently arriving in WA after a rain shortened tour in Queensland.
Tasmanian competitor Brad Smith (Brad Smith Devil Motorsports 6T) has already contested one show here in the West, the current NSW and Queensland Champion not content to settle for those results!
Victorian Champion Peter Nicola will also be making the trip for the show, meaning in addition to local hero Brad Blake who is the current WA Champion, we have the current champions of four of the six Late Model racing states of Australia represented!
The rest of the local brigade is also going to be fighting hard to hold off the visitors, with names like Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) and the Oldfield brothers set to lead the charge along with last start winner Kye Blight who returned to racing with a vengeance last week.
Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) has won feature races at the Bunbury circuit previously and could well grab another while others like the returning Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing), the well-travelled Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) and veteran racer Luke Halliday (CTM Recruitment Racing) are also in the field.
Add last season’s Rookie of the Year Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports), the ever-improving Rod Musarra and the returning Daniel Ameduri (Red dog racing), who is very familiar with the Bunbury circuit and has already raced in Bunbury this year in a Street Stock, amongst others, and it could be absolutely anybody who walks away with the win come feature race time.
Enjoy the show and make sure you come down and visit the drivers in the pits at the conclusion of the races!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Official Nominations – 26
0 Brad Blake
A1 Brent Vosbergen
V1 Peter Nicola
04 Greg Horan
5 Anthony King
T6 Brad Smith
6 Peter Walker
11 Jason Oldfield
USA14 Jeff Roth
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken McPherson
31 Kye Blight
34 Matt Nylander
39 Chris Barrow
46 Cody Dolmans
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
74 Nathan Richards
91 Michael Holmes
94 Luke Haliday
95 Abbey Pickering
155 Daniel Ameduri