An Easter Eggstravaganza!

This weekend will see the Late Models head down the highway for the fourth annual Easter Grand Prix at the Albany Speedway Club, and with nothing but money and pride on the line, it is sure to be a massive show!
Some of the big names of the Pro Dirt Series will be heading down, drivers like Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:), former Albany local Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) and the Nylander Motorsport boys David and Matt regular visitors to the Southern venue and keen to record some good results.
Other Pro Dirt regulars including Peter Walker, the well-travelled Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) and Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports) will also head to the picturesque venue, looking to enjoy a solid night without the pressure of Pro Dirt Series points.
Esperance and Kalgoorlie contenders are also making the trek, including Mat Robbins (Robbins Motorsport ) who already has four feature race wins to his name this season, Sean Barrett (Beaumont Motorsports) (with three wins at Esperance so far this season) and Ben Strautins (BAS Racing) who is always quick.
Abbey Pickering (All About Racing) has swapped in a new engine after hurting one at a recent show and practice laps on Wednesday night mean she will be ready to hit the ground running, while Peter Mewett (Red dog racing) makes a return to the track after missing much of the season so far, joining Shaun Cubbage and Darren Ahearn who were both in the same boat just recently as they made their first appearances for the season.
The Late Models will race on both Saturday and Sunday, with qualifying, two heats and a thirty lap feature on both nights, drivers racing for a great prize pool of over $16,000 for the two-night event, thanks to their wonderful sponsors.
Thank you to all the sponsors who have come on board to make this event possible at Albany this weekend: Albany Forklifts & Industries, T & C Supplies, AFI Towing, Auswest 4WD Dismantlers, Muffler Rebel Exhaust & Suspension, Steve Franey, Harv’s Tyres, De Jonge Mechanical Repairs, Kosters Steel Construction, Aylmore Motors and R&J Batteries.
Thanks also to the valued LMRWA season sponsors: McPhee Freight, Maddington Toyota & CanningVale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Heatleys Safety & Industrial, SupaFit Seat Covers, The Event Mill, Wilson Brewing Company and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Jake Meadley Imagery.
Official Nominations – 17
04 Greg Horan
6 Peter Walker
7 Shaun Cubbage
23 Joe Chalmers
34 Matt Nylander
39 Chris Barrow
49 Sean Barrett
54 David Nylander
55 Peter Mewett
57 Matt Robbins
74 Nathan Richards
76 Ben Strautins
91 Michael Holmes
95 Abbey Pickering
119 Darren Ahearn
333 Aaron Liddell
355 Chris Kent
Eastern Grand Prix Winners
2020/21 – Kye Blight (Night One Kye Blight)
2021/22 – Rained Out (Night One Kye Blight)
2022/23 – Brent Vosbergen (Night One Freddy Kinsella)
2023/24 – ???