Amazing Albany!

This weekend sees the 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series travelling down the highway to the picturesque Albany Speedway Club and with twenty-one nominations received, it is sure to be an amazing show!
All the big guns of the series so far have nominated for the event which will be the fifth round of the Pro Dirt Series this season, and also marks the eleventh time the series has visited the Albany Speedway.
Series leader Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) came close to victory in his last visits to Albany but was ultimately unable to claim the win, something he will be keen to rectify this weekend. He has looked incredibly strong so far this season and he would love nothing better than to emulate his fathers’ efforts at Albany, with Craig having claimed three Pro Dirt features at Albany Speedway previously.
Australian Champion Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) also has three Pro Dirt Series victories to his name at Albany, plus is the last start winner after he won both non-Pro Dirt shows there at Easter last year. Blight already has one feature win to his name this season and is fresh off a podium result last weekend, so will be another one to watch.
Legendary Late Model competitor ‘The 0 Show’ Brad Blake is another who has tasted victory in Albany previously and after an up and down season so far, he is just as hungry as ever to get back on that top step while Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) is the only other one in the field to have also tasted Pro Dirt victory at Albany and he too will be wanting to be right back on the pace with a feature win.
The first Pro Dirt Series round at Albany was in 2008 and in that show, Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) came home second. Now, thirteen years later, Oldfield is back once again and is certainly going to be throwing everything he can at this weekend’s event, especially considering he now sits inside the top three in the overall series standings and is desperate to peg back the gap on Vosbergen to get himself in the best possible position to defend his Pro Dirt Series crown!
Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team) won the WA Late Model Title at Albany in season 2015/16, so certainly knows what it takes to win at the southern venue. He has been in red hot form recently, but it hasn’t all come together for him yet, so this weekend could well be that time.
Series stalwarts Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) have raced at Albany plenty of times before and will be hoping to add to their resumes this weekend, while at the opposite end of the scale, rookies like Peter Mewett and Rod Musarra (Rod Musarra Racing #12) will make their first Late Model starts at the Albany venue.
Excitingly, on top of all the aforementioned names, we have a whole host of other drivers also racing in Albany this weekend, with names like Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing), Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), Daniel Ameduri (Ameduri Motorsports), Matt Amato (Matt Amato Racing) and former local Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) also in the field and looking to make a big name for themselves in downtown Albany.
Others such as former Australian Champion Brad Ludlow (Ludlow Racing), local hero Wayne Coleman, Esperance local Greg Horan, Collie domiciled Cody Avins (Avins Racing) and ‘Smokin’ Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) are also in the field, as is Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport), who will be running his second #34 car after a big crash last weekend.
Make sure you head down to Albany this weekend for a great night of action, and come visit our teams in the pits as there are plenty of giveaways and merchandise to be purchased!
The 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, Mcphee Transport, Global Testing Services, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, APM Roofing and Gutters, Boyes Eqs and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.
Official Nominations – 21
0 Brad Blake
A1 Kye Blight
4 Brent Vosbergen
04 Greg Horan
07 Kodee Brown
10 Cody Avins
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
34 Matt Nylander
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
55 Peter Mewett
55L Brad Ludlow
81 Wayne Coleman
82 Matt Amato
83 Daniel Ameduri
91 Michael Holmes
318 Freddy Kinsella