Albany Return


For the second time this season the Late Models will return to the confines of the Albany Speedway, but this time it is all about the West Aussies as they vie for points in the next round of the Maxima Racing Oils Pro Dirt Series.

Heading the charge to the southern WA venue is none other than newly crowned WA State Champion Jamie Oldfield, who win the title at the Perth Motorplex a few weeks ago. Jamie is in hot form, currently leading the Maxima Racing Oils Pro Dirt series on 712 points, something he will be keen to maintain throughout the Albany round.

Of course he will be challenged by ‘The O Show’ Brad Blake, who is back in form and having an incredibly consistent season to be sitting in second place in the overall series points. Although not garnering as many feature wins as he would have hoped, Blake has been showing he certainly still has the speed and skill to match it with anyone else on track and will be hoping to break through for another win this weekend.4

Michael Holmes, Jay Cardy and Kye Blight all currently sit inside the top six in points and will each be hoping to build on that this weekend. All three drivers made the trek across the Nullabor for the Australian Title, representing our fine state well by all qualifying into the A Main event. Now back on home soil they will be hoping to flex their muscles in more familiar territory once again.

On the Australian Title, Paul Stubber did well enough to come home as Australia #3 and for the first time since winning that position he will be competing in his home state. After an impressive performance earlier in the year at Albany in the USA Tour, Stubber will be hoping to repeat those efforts this weekend.

Veronica McCann is another who put in a great performance at the Australian Title, winning the B Main and then moving forward in the feature event to gain the Hard Charger award. She and her team travelled down to Albany earlier this year also, but unfortunately she was sidelined early with damage from a previous event, so will be hungry to turn some laps in anger tomorrow night.

Add in a whole host of other quick drivers including Lee Watt, Marc Giancola and David Nylander to name but just a few and we are in for a cracking show tomorrow night at Albany Speedway. See you all there!

Release by DTN Media.

Official Nominations – 16
0 Brad Blake
6 James Batley
10 Lee Watt
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
19 Simon McNab
31 Paul Stubber
38 Jai Mazzini
41 Kye Blight
43 Marc Giancola
48 Hayden Norman
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
91 Michael Holmes

Photo Courtesy Peter Roebuck.

Leave a Comment