Absolute Dominance at Albany

Albany Speedway Club has always been a happy hunting ground for Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) and tonight was no different as he dominated the proceedings to go through the night undefeated in what was the fifth round of the 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series.
Blight claimed two heat wins earlier in the night, which set him up for the pole position start in the nights feature race, just the second driver to claim the Dirt Track Nutters sponsored award so far this season after Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) started off pole in all the previous four rounds feature races.
Vosbergen would start alongside Blight on the front row after he claimed a heat race win, while the second row was filled out by Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), who also won a heat race, and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing).
On the first attempt at a start in the feature race, Vosbergen grabbed the initial lead from Blight but back in the field Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) came together down the back straight, Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) left with nowhere to go and climbing over the top of the duo, getting some significant airtime, but all were able to restart.
The second attempt saw Vosbergen again grab the lead and despite some touching amongst cars further back in the field, this time we competed a lap and the race began to settle into a rhythm.
Blight snuck up on Vosbergen and on the fourth circulation he pulled level, only to have Vosbergen again pull away. Shortly after the yellow lights came on for Rod Musarra (Rod Musarra Racing #12) who had come to a stop with a flat tyre.
The restart saw Jason Oldfield dive through and steal second from Blight, with Blight trying to fight back but Oldfield able to hold on.
Vosbergen, Oldfield and Blight were in a three way high speed pursuit over the next few laps, with Blight eventually able to pass Oldfield for second once again on lap eight.
It didn’t take long for Blight to close the lap on Vosbergen, going low in turn three to make the pass and leading the ninth circulation.
From here Blight began to stretch his legs, encountering his first lapped traffic on lap twelve which certainly didn’t slow him.
Behind him, Oldfield was piling the pressure on Brent, lap after lap he would look for a way through and even made a move on lap fourteen but it wouldn’t pay off.
The duo even found themselves fast approaching a lapped car, so they slowed, filed neatly around it, then resumed the battle once more!
Back up front Blight was weaving his way through lapped traffic, his expertise such that no matter where he put his car on the track, it simply worked. He even watched two lapped cars in front of him make contact and change direction and he simply backed off, worked out a new plan and approached them from a new angle and ended up flying past them, all in a matter of seconds.
With ten laps to go Blight, was a full half track ahead of second placed Vosbergen and by lap twenty six he was lapping fourth placed Michael Holmes.
In the dying stages he would close on the back of Vosbergen and Oldfield who would continue to fight it out, the duo side by side in the final laps but Vosbergen ultimately able to hold on, Blight officially defeating Vosbergen and Oldfield as the only three cars on the lead lap.
Amazingly, as Blight received the flag for his parade lap, the heavens opened and the venue was drenched in a heavy shower, which had it arrived any earlier, would have bought the night to a close prematurely.
It was another great night at the Albany Speedway and we cant wait to return soon, but for now our focus shifts back to the Perth Motorplex on Boxing Day for round six of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by the Dirt Track Nutters.
The 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, Mcphee Transport, Global Testing Services, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, APM Roofing and Gutters, Boyes Eqs and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Jason Sutton Photography/DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Kye Blight
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Daniel Ameduri
Boyes Equipment SVS All Star Award – Daniel Ameduri
Official Results
Heat One, 10 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Michael Holmes, 3. Jay Cardy, 4. Matt Amato, 5. Freddy Kinsella (9), 6. Greg Horan (9), 7. Cody Avins (9), 8. Peter Mewett (😎. DNF: Brad Ludlow (😎, Daniel Ameduri (3). Total Time: 2.34.640. Winning Margin: 9.445. Fastest Lap: 14.617 Kye
Heat Two, 10 laps: 1. Jason Oldfield, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Jamie Oldfield, 5. Kodee Brown, 6. Veronica McCann, 7. Matt Nylander, 8. Rod Musarra, 9. Wayne Coleman (9). DNS: Joe Chalmers. Total Time: 2.42.441. Winning Margin: 0.816. Fastest Lap: 15.642 Kodee Brown.
Heat Three, 10 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Kodee Brown, 3. Freddy Kinsella, 4. Jason Oldfield, 5. Jay Cardy, 6. Greg Horan. DNF: Matt Nylander (3), Wayne Coleman (1). DNS: Brad Ludlow, Matt Amato. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.547. Fastest Lap: 15.424 Brent Vosbergen.
Heat Four, 10 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Rod Musarra, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Warren Oldfield, 5. Daniel Ameduri, 6. Veronica McCann, 7. Jamie Oldfield, 8. Cody Avins (9). DNS: Joe Chalmers, Peter Mewett. Total Time: 2.43.396. Winning Margin: 4.608. Fastest Lap: 15.345 Kye Blight.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. Kye Blight, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. Jason Oldfield, 4. Michael Holmes (29), 5. Jamie Oldfield (29), 6. Kodee Brown (29), 7. Warren Oldfield (29), 8. Daniel Ameduri (29), 9. Matt Amato (29), 10. Veronica McCann (28), 11. Jay Cardy (28), 12. Greg Horan (28). DNF: Wayne Coleman (😎, Rod Musarra (4), Cody Avins (4), Freddy Kinsella (3). DNS: Joe Chalmers, Matt Nylander, Brad Ludlow, Peter Mewett. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 15.150. Fastest Lap: 15.493 Kye Blight.