A Premature End

Unfortunately tonight’s seventh round of the Sims Metal Management Pro Dirt Series at the Perth Motorplex was cancelled after the heat races due to damage sustained to the catch fence in another  divisions feature event.

Four heat races however were run and won, with Brent Vosbergen, Marc Giancola, Kye Blight and Brad Blake each claiming a win, with Marc Giancola scheduled to start on pole positions alongside Kye Blight. These points still count towards the Championship.

At this stage no information has been released as to whether the race will be rescheduled. Details will come in the coming days.

In the meantime, after tonight’s show the Late Models now have nearly two weeks off as they undertake the final preparations for the big ones, the two night Di Candilo Steel City Late Model Nationals at the Perth Motorplex, doubling as the first two rounds of the huge DI Candilo Steel City USA vs WA Invasion Tour! Hold onto your hats ladies and gentlemen, it’s about to get wild!

The Sims Metal Management Late Model Pro Dirt Series and Di Candilo Steel City Invasion Tour, proudly bought to you by Global XLI, Boyes Mechanical, Cardy Racing Components, Dirt Track Nutters, Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, APM Roofing, CTM Recruitment, RACIN, Collie Machine Shop, Grays Online, Mac Track, Rockingham Towing, Baldivis Pharmacy, Mezzstor, Palice Property Group, Michael Holmes Racing, West Coast Big Bike Hire, Our Car Autos, Homes by Roth, Dirt on Dirt, QB Metal Recyclers and Bulk Metal Recycling.


Contingency Awards

Pancho’s Pole Position – Marc Giancola

APM Roofing Quicktime – N/A

DTN Hard Charger – N/A

Cardy Racing Components 8th Place – N/A

Global XLI All Star Award – N/A

Boyes Mechanical Highest All Star Qualifier – Brent Vosbergen

Homes by Roth All Star Podium – N/A

CTM Recruitment Yellow Spoiler Points Leader – Michael Holmes


Release by DTN Media.

Pictures Courtesy Mel Parker.


Official Results

Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 91 Michael Holmes, 4. 31 Paul Stubber, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. 84 Chris Pavlovich, 7. 14 Willy Powell, 8. 52 Jay Cardy, 9. 26 Ken Macpherson, 10. U14R Jeff Roth, 11. 19 Simon McNab, 12. 75 Mick Comley. Total Time: 2.23.895. Winning Margin: 0.930. Fastest Lap: 17.432 Paul Stubber. 

Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 43 Marc Giancola, 2. 50 Veronica McCann, 3. U14G Joe Godsey, 4. 99 Ryan Halliday, 5. 23 Joe Chalmers, 6. 41 Kye Blight, 7. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 8. 12 Aydan Trewern, 9. 60 Jayden Meckenstock, 10. 318 Freddy Kinsella. Total Time: 2.22.088. Winning Margin: 2.333. Fastest Lap: 16.956 Marc Giancola.

Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 91 Michael Holmes, 3. 99 Ryan Halliday, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 6. U14R Jeff Roth, 7. 19 Simon McNab, 8. 60 Jayden Meckenstock. DNF: U14G Joe Godsey (6), 31 Paul Stubber (5). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.794. Fastest Lap: 16.711 Paul Stubber.

Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. 0 Brad Blake, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. 43 Marc Giancola, 4. 23 Joe Chalmers, 5. 26 Ken Macpherson, 6. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 7. 84 Chris Pavlovich, 8. 50 Veronica McCann, 9. 75 Mick Comley, 10. 12 Aydan Trewern, 11. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 12. 14 Willy Powell (7). Total Time: 2.18.719. Winning Margin: 0.428. Fastest Lap: 16.911 Marc Giancola.

Feature, 30 laps: Not Run.