Blight is WA #1!
Four years after his first WA Late Model Title win, Kye Blight (BAR31 Team) has made his way back onto the top step of the podium tonight at the Perth Motorplex, claiming the 2023/24 WA Late Model Title against a crack field of contenders.
The racing was hot and heavy all night and Blight, starting from position seven in the thirty-lap feature would have his work cut out for him.
As the race went green it was an Oldfield Racing one, two three, Jason getting the jump on Warren with Jamie just nudging in behind.
Jamie went low in turn two and came out in position two, with the Oldfield’s still one, two and three to end the first lap. Jamie then nabbed the lead on lap two, but all of a sudden American visitor Doug Drown (Doug Drown Racing) on the scene, grabbing the lead on lap four after working his way round the whole trio.
There was a mass of eleven cars from fifth back fighting it out in a pack, Drown leading Jamie, Warren and Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) who got past Jason Oldfield with five complete.
Drown began to pull away, Jamie and Warren running side by side for second and Blight raced into fourth, but the sixth lap wouldn’t be complete as Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) found himself facing the wrong way in turn one to bring out the yellows, seeing Blight back behind on the restart.
It was chaos on the start once again back in the pack, while up front there was still a mess of cars fighting it out, Drown leading away Jamie, Warren and a group of battling cars. The inevitable happened as Jason Oldfield and Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) came together and Chalmers crunched the turn one wall to bring on the yellows again.
Drown led away with Jason Oldfield shooting into second, Kye Blight also joining the fray to grab third and then drive right around the outside of Jason for second as lap nine was completed.
With ten done it was Drown only just holding off a charging Blight, with Jason leading Warren, Jamie, McCann, Craig Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR), Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing), Brad Blake and David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) who had come from position twenty-three.
Blight would run the highline and drive right on by Drown for the lead, the duo pulling away from the fighting Oldfield brothers as they made their way into heavy lapped traffic.
At the halfway point Blight had a two and a half second lead on Drown with Warren getting by Jason shortly after for third as McCann loitered just behind in fifth.
Drown went high in turn one on lap twenty and lost a heap of ground, but he was far enough away from third placed Warren Oldfield that it didn’t make a difference, while McCann was also able to get past Jason Oldfield for fourth.
Jason fought back and a few laps later retook fourth, but McCann fought back again and gained the position back once again on lap twenty three.
Back up front with five laps to go Blight was two seconds ahead as Drown began to peg back the gap, Warren a further four seconds further behind in third.
With two to go Blight, Drown and Warren Oldfield were well ahead still but the battle for fourth was on in earnest with McCann leading Jason, Jamie and Blake in an epic battle, Jason just getting by on lap twenty nine.
Blight would go on to win the title once again, defeating Drown and Warren, with Jason holding off McCann in the closing stages for fourth, while Jamie, defending champion Blake, Vosbergen, David Nylander and Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) would round out the top ten.
It was an epic title event and one that will be remembered for years to come, so congratulations to all involved!
The 2023/24 Pro Dirt Series is proudly supported by Maddington Toyota & CanningVale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, McPhee Freight, Heatleys Safety & Industrial, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, SupaFit Seat Covers, The Event Mill, Wilson Brewing Company and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Official Results
Heat 1, 8 laps: 1. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. 18 Matt Goodlad, 4. 52 Jay Cardy, 5. 31 Kye Blight, 6. 0 Brad Blake, 7. 91 Michael Holmes, 8. 6 Peter Walker. DNF: 54 David Nylander (5). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.707. Fastest Lap: 16.350 Jay Cardy.
Heat 2, 8 laps: 1. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 2. USA1 Doug Drown, 3. 34 Matt Nylander, 4. 39 Chris Barrow, 5. 49 Sean Barrett, 6. 93 Nathan Callaghan, 7. 80 Damian Hudson, 8. N6 Bruce Mackenzie. Total Time: 2.16.973. Winning Margin: 1.190. Fastest Lap: 16.416 Doug Drown.
Heat 3, 8 laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. 11 Jason Oldfield, 3. 21 Rod Musarra, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. 94 Luke Halliday, 6. 04 Greg Horan. DNF: 95 Abbey Pickering (5), 119 Darren Ahearn (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.431. Fastest Lap: 16.881 Warren Oldfield.
Heat 4, 8 laps: 1. 0 Brad Blake, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 34 Matt Nylander, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 80 Damian Hudson, 7. 18 Matt Goodlad, 8. 39 Chris Barrow, 9. N6 Bruce Mackenzie. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.313. Fastest Lap: 16.391 Brad Blake.
Heat 5, 8 laps: 1. 11 Jason Oldfield, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. USA1 Doug Drown, 4. 94 Luke Halliday, 5. 49 Sean Barrett, 6. 93 Nathan Callaghan, 7. 04 Greg Horan. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.71. Fastest Lap: 16.881 Jason Oldfield.
Heat 6, 8 laps: 1. 31 Kye Blight, 2. 21 Rod Musarra, 3. 50 Veronica McCann, 4. 54 David Nylander, 5. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 6. 91 Michael Holmes, 7. 6 Peter Walker, 8. 119 Darren Ahearn (7). DNS: 95 Abbey Pickering. Total Time: 2.13.287. Winning Margin: 5.796. Fastest Lap: 16.219 Kye Blight.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. 31 Kye Blight, 2. USA1 Doug Drown, 3. 15 Warren Oldfield, 4. 11 Jason Oldfield, 5. 50 Veronica McCann, 6. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 7. 0 Brad Blake, 8. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 9. 54 David Nylander (29), 10. 34 Matt Nylander (29), 11. 80 Damian Hudson 929), 12. 94 Luke Halliday (29), 13. 39 Chris Barrow (29), 14. 49 Sean Barrett (29), 15. 04 Greg Horan (29), 16. 6 Peter Walker, 17. 119 Darren Ahearn (27), 18. N6 Bruce Mackenzie (27). DNF: 18 Matt Goodlad (22), 91 Michael Holmes (16), 23 Joe Chalmers (7), 52 Jay Cardy (6), 93 Nathan Callaghan (1). DNS: 21 Rod Musarra, 95 Abbey Pickering. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.903. Fastest Lap: 16.413 Kye Blight.